Pluma broken in new MATE install. Fix? [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
billwx
Young Hen
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:45

Pluma broken in new MATE install. Fix? [Solved]

Post by billwx » Mon Oct 16, 2017 1:45

Long-time user of Sabayon, but this is the first time I've installed it on this HP 15, a Pentium quad core from 2015 upgraded to 1TB hd and 8GB ram. Downloaded the latest MATE iso and put on usb with my main Sabayon machine. Did custom partitioning, install, and updates on the HP. I boot into mate, install and uninstall several progs to my preferences. Everything works great, as expected, except the default mate text editor pluma. Trying to launch from the menu and the icon i created in the task bar gives me a spinning wheel, then nothing. The program never appears. Reboot.No change. I find i can not uninstall pluma without taking out mate as well, so i elect to reinstall pluma. Reboot.No change. I use this prog daily on my main machine with nary an issue. Is this a known bug? Any suggestions as to the cause or a fix? Thx!
Last edited by billwx on Wed Nov 22, 2017 7:06, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3396
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Pluma broken in new MATE install. Fix?

Post by sabayonino » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:14

Hi.
Open a terminal/console and run "pluma" as user

Code: Select all

$ pluma
report here any outputs. Some libraries could be broken and need to be rebuild

Edit : I've installed pluma on KDE-desktop (need libeas , mate-desktop packages) and pluma works fine.

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2752
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Pluma broken in new MATE install. Fix?

Post by joost » Mon Oct 16, 2017 12:42

Code: Select all

equo deptest
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

billwx
Young Hen
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:45

Re: Pluma broken in new MATE install. Fix?

Post by billwx » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:37

Thanks! Looks like you are right, but now how do i fix it?

[email protected] ~ $ pluma
pluma: error while loading shared libraries: /usr/lib64/libpeas-gtk-1.0.so.0: file too short

billwx
Young Hen
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 4:45

Re: Pluma broken in new MATE install. Fix?

Post by billwx » Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:40

Thanks. All seems well here.

sabayon bill # equo deptest
╠ @@ Running dependency test...
╠ @@ No missing dependencies

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3396
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Pluma broken in new MATE install. Fix?

Post by sabayonino » Tue Oct 17, 2017 13:23

Code: Select all

equo q belongs /usr/lib64/libpeas-gtk-1.0.so.0 -qv
dev-libs/libpeas-1.20.0-r1

try to reinstall dev-libs/libpeas

Code: Select all

# equo i dev-libs/libpeas

Post Reply