Installed mediatomb with rigo now what? Where is it?

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Installed mediatomb with rigo now what? Where is it?

Postby iamk2 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 0:26

If I use rigo application browser to install mediatomb should i not then have an icon for it??

If so where?? obviously it is alluding me. It does not show under applications and does not turn up when trying in the search option for applications.

I tried to use xbmc to act as a upnp host for my xbox 360 but it never popped up in system video player on the xbox 360 after I adjusted the setting to share files via upnp iunder setting for xbmc. Heard mediatomb was a better alternate then xbmc. Really dont care which is better just need to share vids with xbox 360.

Just installed sabayan yesterday with all updates.

Double checked and it says installed in rigo.
Last edited by iamk2 on Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:22, edited 2 times in total.
iamk2
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 0:07

Re: ? about downloading software with rigo

Postby colock » Fri Mar 15, 2013 0:33

Code: Select all
equo search mediatomb

Code: Select all
>>  @@ Searching...
>>      @@ Package: net-misc/mediatomb-0.12.1-r5 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org]
>>         Available:     version: 0.12.1-r5 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revision: 0
>>         Installed:     version: Not installed ~ tag: N/A ~ revision: N/A
>>         Slot:          0
>>         Homepage:      http://www.mediatomb.cc/
>>         Description:   MediaTomb is an open source UPnP
>>                        MediaServer
>>         License:       GPL-2
>>  Keywords:  mediatomb
>>  Found:     1 entry


Servers usually don't come with "icons", they run in the background, "serving" something.

Check the "eselect rc" command.

I don't have mediatomb installed but it should be something along those lines:
Code: Select all
eselect rc list
eselect rc add mediatomb default
eselect rc start mediatomb


The first command (list) lists all the available services. (check for mediatomb being present there)

The second command (add mediatomb default) adds the mediatomb service to the "default" runlevel (i.e. it will automatically start at boot).

The third command (start mediatomb) starts the mediatomb service right away (i.e. no need to reboot).
colock
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:01

Re: ? about downloading software with rigo

Postby iamk2 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 0:54

equo search mediatomb
found 0 entries
iamk2
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 0:07


Re: Installed mediatomb with rigo now what? Where is it?

Postby iamk2 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 1:26

I see where to install from and completed that process. But now what - it says installed but how do open the WUI.
iamk2
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2013 0:07

Re: Installed mediatomb with rigo now what? Where is it?

Postby Stupot » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:29

I run mediatomb on my linux box. Like it was said before, it doesn't have an icon, it runs in the background. It's actually very nice like that.

Here's what I did after installing
Code: Select all
#rc-update add mediatomb default
#/etc/init.d/mediatomb start


The first command makes it start when you restart your computer. You'll never have to start it again, yay!
The second one makes it start right now (much easier than rebooting).

Mediatomb's default port is 49152. So, from the computer you are hosting it from, open up your browser and go to:
localhost:49152

From there, you can add directories and stuff for files to be shared.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Installed mediatomb with rigo now what? Where is it?

Postby Stupot » Fri Mar 15, 2013 4:33

Oh...well. So I use it to stream to my ps3. Apparently mediatomb can't stream to the xbox 360 for some reason.

From http://mediatomb.cc/pages/documentation

Code: Select all
--enable-mrreg-service

Default:

    disabled

This option will enable the compilation and support of the X_MS_MediaReceiverRegistrar UPnP service, this was implemented for future Xbox 360 support. If you have a renderer that requires this service, you can safely enable it. It will always return true to IsValidated and IsAuthorized requests.

Note:

    eventhough this service is implemented there is still no Xbox 360 support in MediaTomb, more work needs to be done.


So it doesn't sound like mediatomb is what you're going to want for streaming to your 360. Sorry about that.
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1511
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Installed mediatomb with rigo now what? Where is it?

Postby Matte88 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 9:01

Asked few days ago for adding ps3mediaserver to Sabayon :mrgreen:
Image
When I became the sun,
I shone life into the man's hearts.
Matte88
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 14:37
Location: @/etc/entropy/repositories.conf.d/entropy_sabayon-limbo

Re: Installed mediatomb with rigo now what? Where is it?

Postby greendave8 » Fri Mar 15, 2013 10:26

I am running ps3mediaserver at the moment. Just download it to a folder and hit the "sh" icon. Stream from your linux box to the ps3.

I also use mediatomb, and it only runs from the command line.

gd8
greendave8
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 12:23


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests