"kdelink" USE in media-libs/mlt-0.8.6-r1.ebuild

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

"kdelink" USE in media-libs/mlt-0.8.6-r1.ebuild

Postby Odysseus » Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:12

Hey it's been a while since I've posted here but I have a question for the devs.

I long ago converted my laptop from Sabayon to a pure Gentoo ~amd64, however I have kept using the Sabayon overlay.

My question is what is the "kdelink" useflag for in media-libs/mlt-0.8.6-r1?

I've searched all around the net and found several posts that don't seem clear as to its purpose. I'm running a full featured KDE environment on my ~amd64 laptop and this package is pulled in by kdenlive.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Ciao
Odysseus
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:37
Location: Miami, FL (homesick for SF,CA)

Re: "kdelink" USE in media-libs/mlt-0.8.6-r1.ebuild

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:50

I'm not a SL developer, but, looking at the ebuild for media-libs/mlt-0.8.6-r1 in the sabayon overlay in the SL Git repository (https://git.sabayon.org/overlays/for-ge ... -r1.ebuild), it includes the following comment:

Code: Select all
# the meaning of kde flag is weird here because I don't want to change
# what it means in Gentoo (should be something like 'kdenlive');
# 'kdelink' flag added (should be: 'kde')
# proper fix requested in Gentoo bug 445230
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: "kdelink" USE in media-libs/mlt-0.8.6-r1.ebuild

Postby Odysseus » Thu Jan 17, 2013 19:43

Thanks Fitzcarraldo, I saw that too. That is the exact info that I'm not too clear on, and is what I'm confused about. I read this on both the Gentoo and Sabayon bugzilla. As someone who is using the kde profile, the kde useflag is enabled in all packages where it's a choice.

Since I'm running a "pure" KDE environment (no Gnome and only a few gtk apps) AND kdenlive, I should then be enabling this flag, correct?

My interpretation is that the "kde" use flag is patching something useful specifically for kdenlive and that the "kdelink" is patching the build to do something that normally should be handled by the kde flag (linking against kdelibs as opposed to qt), which is why he's calling it kdelink.

Are you understanding this the same way I am?

TIA
Odysseus
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:37
Location: Miami, FL (homesick for SF,CA)

Re: "kdelink" USE in media-libs/mlt-0.8.6-r1.ebuild

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Jan 18, 2013 9:51

Yes. Snippets from the ebuild indicate that one can build it for Qt4 but without KDE:

Code: Select all
   qt4? (
      x11-libs/qt-gui:4
      x11-libs/qt-svg:4
      media-libs/libexif
      kdelink? ( kde-base/kdelibs:4 ) )


Code: Select all
      $(use_enable kde kdenlive)


Code: Select all
   { use qt4 && use !kdelink; } && myconf="${myconf} --without-kde"
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron