Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

diddlebug
Simple Hen
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 16:45

Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates [Solved]

Post by diddlebug » Sat Jul 24, 2010 1:03

There were two updates shown by Magneto update notifier, both having to do with Alsa.

After installation, and a reboot, I cannot start Alsamixer from the command line, as user or root superuser. When I try to start Alsamixer I get the following:
diddlebug# alsamixer
ALSA lib conf.c:3272:(snd_config_hooks_call) Cannot open shared library /usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_conf_pulse.so
ALSA lib control.c:902:(snd_ctl_open_noupdate) Invalid CTL default
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory

diddlebug#
What happened? Audio seems to work, to the extent it always has (Pidgin, and the like doesn't work but mp3s, video and flash are fine). I need to go to Alsamixer to set my webmicrophone.


EDIT: Per skiman's post below, Commenting out the line:

/usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_conf_pulse.so


in /usr/share/alsa/pulse.conf fixes the issue.
Last edited by diddlebug on Sat Jul 24, 2010 18:07, edited 1 time in total.

a0hof
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 14:11

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by a0hof » Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:37

I've got exactly the same problem after these updates. It even broke my /etc/pulse/default.pa configuration cause pulseaudio is not able to initilize the module "module-alsa-sink" belonging to my sound-device (argument: "device=hw:CMI8738") anymore. Automatic HAL-detection works though.

skiman
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:44
Location: Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Contact:

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by skiman » Sat Jul 24, 2010 10:17

Sabayon 5.3 with kernel-genkernel-x86_64-2.6.31-sabayon, KDE based
Hardware:Laptop Toshiba A210-1AP with Intel HDA (Azalia) Sound card

I got same error and don't know how to fix it!!! If anyone know how to fix it then please help me with it!
# equo deptest && equo libtest - was not helpful.
Last edited by skiman on Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:37, edited 1 time in total.
Everything that doesn't kill you only makes you stronger!

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2737
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by joost » Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:40

Confirmed here.
I'll have a look.
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

Mute
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:41

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by Mute » Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:45

Thanks joost. Same error here, HDA intel chipset.

skiman
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:44
Location: Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Contact:

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by skiman » Sat Jul 24, 2010 12:49

As I found PulseAudio still works and it's plugins too. I can run Audacious with PulseAudio Plugin and Watch youtube videos or videos in VLC for example but cant add volume for it.
Everything that doesn't kill you only makes you stronger!

diddlebug
Simple Hen
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 16:45

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by diddlebug » Sat Jul 24, 2010 14:15

As a relatively new user to Linux, I've quickly realized that audio is a weak point ain't it?

Mute
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:41

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by Mute » Sat Jul 24, 2010 15:41

Unfortunately, yes it is. Hopefully it will improve with time and dedication.

a0hof
Baby Hen
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 02, 2010 14:11

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by a0hof » Sat Jul 24, 2010 16:46

OT: Well, I remember that sound without pulseaudio (just using alsa) was quite stable, but alsa itself was missing some (how I think for most people unimportant) features... /OT
Using KMix for adjusting channels works flawlessly, just using alsamixer in commandline produces exact the same error as reported above and systemsettings->multimedia shows no pulseaudio device anymore (although alsa.conf describes pulse as default device) but shows the pure alsa-devices.

skiman
Young Hen
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 6:44
Location: Krasnoyarsk, Russia
Contact:

Re: Alsamixer Broken after alsalib updates

Post by skiman » Sat Jul 24, 2010 16:57

Genfool, sad that this error is only for 64bit versions of Sabayon Linux and he send me receipt how to fix it.
Also he sad that this will fixed in next update.
__________________________________________________________
At least in amd64, after commenting the line with
"/usr/lib32/alsa-lib/libasound_module_conf_pulse.so" in
/usr/share/alsa/pulse.conf, it works.
That file belongs to alsa-plugins
Everything that doesn't kill you only makes you stronger!

Post Reply