Boxee (xbmc)

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
christo4
Baby Hen
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 20:52

Boxee (xbmc)

Post by christo4 » Thu Mar 19, 2009 1:50

Has anyone gotten boxee to work on Sabayon 4? I understand that it's mostly built on xbmc, which Sabayon already packs. I found instructions for installing on Gentoo, but it seems pretty involved. If I can get this to work, I think it will be the easiest way to watch streaming Netflix vids on Linux.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Boxee (xbmc)

Post by wolfden » Thu Mar 19, 2009 23:10

not that I know of, haven't heard anyone yets. It sounds like a real pain to build and only supporting towards Ubuntu doesn't help, all in time I suppose

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=258082

christo4
Baby Hen
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 20:52

Re: Boxee (xbmc)

Post by christo4 » Sat Mar 21, 2009 3:53

Thanks wolfden. The link you posted makes me less willing to try. I'm certainly not ready to make my own ebuild, and this project has way too many dependencies. But, I did find these sites for compiling boxee for gentoo:
http://forum.boxee.tv/showthread.php?t=2309
http://howto.wikia.com/wiki/Howto_insta ... ntoo_Linux

And somewhere I read that someone did get it to work on Sabayon. I really like Sabayon, and finding a way to watch Netflix videos on it would make me even more happy. Netflix really is the only reason I still maintain a dual-boot. I'm even considering installing Ubuntu just so I can use the boxee binary already compiled for it. Or. . ., as you say, maybe if I can just be patient, it'll eventually make its way to other distros like Sabayon--in due time.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Boxee (xbmc)

Post by wolfden » Sat Mar 21, 2009 5:46

as far as I know, netflix is not working yet with linux, still working on it. Only windows version of boxee has netflix working. On my ubuntu install I run boxee, runs fair. I can't wait for the project to mature more as I will be using it a lot.

with the link I posted, you don't have to make an ebuild, it's already there

Post Reply