monodevelop - debugger not working

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
v2k
Simple Hen
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:50
Contact:

monodevelop - debugger not working

Post by v2k » Mon Mar 16, 2009 0:29

Anyone using monodevelop on sabayon?

The Debug option is greyed out. The debugger is listed in the Add-in Manager. Everything compiles and runs fine. I've tested a number of test applications, but the CTRL+F5 Debug option is always disabled. Breakpoints are ignored. Anyone have this working?

I tried installing with equo, uninstalled, reinstalled with emerge; same results.
Linux spectre 2.6.28-sabayon #1 SMP Wed Mar 11 14:25:13 UTC 2009 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

v2k
Simple Hen
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 2:50
Contact:

Re: monodevelop - debugger not working

Post by v2k » Mon Mar 16, 2009 7:17

I was able to install the latest version with the debugger via emerge. It's now there, but crashes when I try to use the debug option...
Linux spectre 2.6.28-sabayon #1 SMP Wed Mar 11 14:25:13 UTC 2009 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux

WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: monodevelop - debugger not working

Post by WarraWarra » Tue Mar 17, 2009 17:02

It can be that we are using ~x86 unstable / testing but that seems unlikely as you would need it to develop so any environment must work.

Then likely check your dependancy's for broken corrupt items.

equo --help
equo deptest && equo libtest

Or emerge --help
emerge -D system --pretend

You know the process and then fix what needs maintenance.

Also pay special attention to pygtk and gcc or other development tools as they might have been messed up somehow causing this.
equo install "broken package name here"
emerge "broken package name here"

Hope this helps.

Alejandro Nova
Baby Hen
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 20:17

Re: monodevelop - debugger not working

Post by Alejandro Nova » Mon Aug 24, 2009 20:57

This may be related to an amazing bug and oversight in all Sabayon Linux: why, oh why, don't you give me the choice to install debug symbols? Yes, I know that they use more disk space. But they don't slowdown things at all, and they enable me to, if I'm using a live Amarok ebuild, to report meaningful backtraces. If you can do it the Ubuntu way (keep separate trees of packages and packages-dbg for debugging) it would be awesome.

Post Reply