How to maually install a .bin application. [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

How to maually install a .bin application. [Solved]

Postby Ric » Fri Jan 16, 2009 0:39

To use the latest version of Blender, I downloaded the .bin from blender.org , and until now, I could just run it like that.
But after installing a few other apps ( via spritz), the system now thinks the Blender app is a "shared library"! It won't launch.
How install this application manually ?
Act weird. It supports freedom.
It gives others permission to act weird too.
Ric
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:25

Re: How to maually install a .bin application.

Postby wolfden » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:34

You shouldn't be outside of the package manager.

Did you look in portage first? That would of been better than manually doing it.

If a package isn't in entropy you should look at portage or overlay to see if available. It's not recommended to mix them, but if you know what you're doing it's ok. I usually like to just create my own local overlay for packages outside of entropy. See the howto on 3rd party ebuilds. You can request packages and as far as version bumps, entropy is being bumped all the time, just a little patience is required. We just can't support packages that are manually installed, there is too many variables. We stress over and over and over to use the package manager.

:santa:
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: How to maually install a .bin application.

Postby Ric » Sat Jan 17, 2009 0:19

Did you look in portage first?

I tried, but got an odd blockage. One of the library dependencies is masked, portage needs updating before it would let me unmask.
I usually like to just create my own local overlay for packages outside of entropy. See the howto on 3rd party ebuilds. You can request packages and as far as version bumps, entropy is being bumped all the time, just a little patience is required.

I'll have to look into the 3rd party ebuild idea. I completely understand how much work it is to keep repositories up to date. Thanks for doing as much as you do. 8)
I just experimented with installing an older version with spritz, then replacing the .bin in user/bin with the updated version. I'm sure its a bad idea, but so far it's working well. Blender builds are mostly static fortunately. I may upgrade to SL 4 with KDE to get more up-to-date anyhow.
Act weird. It supports freedom.
It gives others permission to act weird too.
Ric
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:25

Re: How to maually install a .bin application.

Postby albfneto » Sat Jan 24, 2009 17:18

Ric, your method is not so bad.
i make this sometimes, copying a new package over the old.
this is generally sucessuful, for ex, with some pre compiled packages for linux iin general, as the browser Firefox, or
the file manager Krusader.
You may also operate as Wolfden suggests, creating your local overlay, and in this manner, i have in mind that you may also fully update Portage.
I have at this moment 4 Sabayon installations.
One is 4.0r1, i use only Entropy.
Other is 3.5, fully updated to Branch 4, i use only Portage.
The two others were mixed, all works well.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1725
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: How to maually install a .bin application.

Postby Ric » Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:21

Its nice to know it works. But I ended up upgrading to SL4 after all.
Then I noticed that Spritz has the ability to install from binary. (file/install from .bin... too obvious.)
Thanks anyhow guys.
Ric
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 2:25

Re: How to maually install a .bin application. [Solved]

Postby smardy » Tue Jan 27, 2009 17:16

Like blender myself .... :lol:
In fact
Code: Select all
equo search blender
>>  @@ Searching...
>>   #1 Sabayon Linux Official Repository
>>      @@ Package: media-gfx/blender-2.48a-r3      branch: 4

It is in the repository so you can just equo install blender-2.48a-r3
or spritz must find it..
smardy
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 21:57


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fitzcarraldo and 1 guest

cron