openoffice suite will not load [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

openoffice suite will not load [Solved]

Postby sparkable » Tue Jan 13, 2009 18:46

This could be me just being new to linux but none of my open office programs will load on a newly installed Sabayon 4r1 system. I have a fully updated system and when I click on an icon it looks like it will load, but it never does. I checked in the terminal and it shows the programs are installed. Any one have any advice or possible solutions?
sparkable
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 22:37

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby joost » Tue Jan 13, 2009 21:54

Could you try this:
Open a terminal and type in
Code: Select all
su

Give in your root password and do:
Code: Select all
equo remove openoffice && equo install openoffice
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby sparkable » Tue Jan 13, 2009 23:18

Sorry for not replying sooner, but i was doing what you suggested and it worked. Thanks alot for your help. Although I am curious as to why that occured. Was it a bad burn? or somethingelse? Again, thanks for your help.
sparkable
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 22:37

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby joost » Tue Jan 13, 2009 23:20

I had a simular problem on sabayon4 and even on the Lite version we are testing now.

Simply reinstalling it on my machine like i told above solved it for me.. I thought it was only me.

:D
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby sparkable » Tue Jan 13, 2009 23:25

Cool. That helped me make the switch to full-time linux user now that I can use openoffice. Great distro and cannot wait to

keep using as main OS. Now , I just have to learn more about package management.
sparkable
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 22:37

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby joost » Tue Jan 13, 2009 23:29

Lemme give you a quick start.

to update the repos info:
Code: Select all
equo update

This pulls in meta data about new packages available (and updates)

To update everything:
Code: Select all
equo world


To install a single package
Code: Select all
equo install package_name


to search
Code: Select all
equo search package


:D
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby sparkable » Tue Jan 13, 2009 23:34

Thanks :D
sparkable
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 22:37

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby sparkable » Tue Jan 13, 2009 23:49

I got 2 more questions: should i use the emerge command or equo. Also, is there a good place to look for sabayon commands besides the wiki. When I used to ask question on other linux forums it would take days just to get a reply. Thanks again for all your help
sparkable
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 22:37

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby joost » Wed Jan 14, 2009 0:04

Don't mix entropy (equo) and portage (emerge)

choose a path.

Since you are a newcommer (no offense at all) i suggest using entropy.
In entropy everything is pre-compiled. All problems taken careoff for you.

Portage has a learning curve, you can easily break your system with it, so if you want to try it, be sure to read the Gentoo manual.
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2547
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: openoffice suite will not load

Postby sparkable » Wed Jan 14, 2009 0:07

Good to know :D

Thanx
sparkable
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2009 22:37

Next

Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest