64 bit Flash: On it's way

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby ashley194 » Sat Nov 22, 2008 10:12

Hi chcikpea!
Have verified which version of netscape-flash I've got on my SL 3.5.1 64bit, because I didn't have to un-mask anything?

Anyway, here's my konsole output.

ashley194 rhawkins # emerge -s netscape-flash
Searching...
[ Results for search key : netscape-flash ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

* net-www/netscape-flash
Latest version available: 10.0.12.36-r1
Latest version installed: 10.0.12.36-r1
Size of files: 5,066 kB
Homepage: http://www.adobe.com/
Description: Adobe Flash Player
License: AdobeFlash-10

Thanks for all the advice :D
ashley194
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 21:54
Location: Manchester, UK.

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby ashley194 » Sat Nov 22, 2008 13:39

Just noticed that in Firefox, some websites are asking for 'application/x-shockwave-flash'. So re-emerged 'nspluginwrapper-1.1.4' & the Firefox 'missing plugin' message dissapeared :D
ashley194
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 321
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 21:54
Location: Manchester, UK.

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby wolfden » Sat Nov 22, 2008 14:16

Using it here with opera - works better than ever
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby chickpea » Mon Nov 24, 2008 23:00

ashley194 wrote:Just noticed that in Firefox, some websites are asking for 'application/x-shockwave-flash'. So re-emerged 'nspluginwrapper-1.1.4' & the Firefox 'missing plugin' message dissapeared :D


very bizarre. Netscape-flash 10 (64 bit) is supposed to conflict with nspluginwrapper.

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flas ... html#known

Known issues says that nspluginwrapper and 64-bit flash don't like each other. PLUS, running, 64bit flash in the pluginwrapper is totally redundant. You don't need the pluginwrapper, because you have a native 64bit app. it should run happily with 64-bit libs. it doesn't need the wrapper, because it's not a 32-bit app. I suspect you are running the 32-bit app in the pluginwrapper and don't realize it.

In fact, you are running an OLD version of flash. 10.0.12.36-r1 != 10.0.d20.7. THE ONLY 64-bit version is 10.0.d20.7

YOU NEED TO UNMASK IT. Why are you fighting me on this?
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby chickpea » Mon Nov 24, 2008 23:07

also, I think you fundamentally misunderstand the difference between a 64 bit application and 64 bit OS. Just because your OS is 64-bit does not mean that all your applications are 64 bit. Many applications are 32 bit and work in 64 bit systems thanks to what is known as "multilib" support.

32 bit flash that is ALL versions of flash prior to 10.0.d20.7 (no matter if they are run on a 64bit or 32 bit OS) are 32 bit. If you are using a flash version PRIOR to 10.0.d20.7 then it is CERTAIN that you are using a 32 bit flashplayer.

The only 64 bit flash player is 10.0.d20.7. If you are using anything else you are by definition using a 32 bit flash player. Again, sync portage, do the keywording for flashplayer and then emerge. I am telling you, YOU DO NOT HAVE A 64 BIT FLASH INSTALLED.
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby wolfden » Mon Nov 24, 2008 23:53

one should really get and use eix - it's the best tool ever for searching

# eix netscape-flash
[I] net-www/netscape-flash
Available versions: (~)9.0.151.0!m!s 10.0.12.36-r1!m!s [M]-10.0.20.7_alpha!m!s
Installed versions: 10.0.12.36-r1!m!s(09:32:08 11/07/08)
Homepage: http://www.adobe.com/
Description: Adobe Flash Player

as you can easily see 10.0.20.7_alpha

btw - am on 32 bit right now, that is why I don't have the alpha installed

:santa:

EDIT: Take a look here for setting up eix
http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... #Using_EIX
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby chickpea » Tue Nov 25, 2008 2:31

wolfden wrote:one should really get and use eix - it's the best tool ever for searching

# eix netscape-flash
[I] net-www/netscape-flash
Available versions: (~)9.0.151.0!m!s 10.0.12.36-r1!m!s [M]-10.0.20.7_alpha!m!s
Installed versions: 10.0.12.36-r1!m!s(09:32:08 11/07/08)
Homepage: http://www.adobe.com/
Description: Adobe Flash Player

as you can easily see 10.0.20.7_alpha

btw - am on 32 bit right now, that is why I don't have the alpha installed

:santa:

EDIT: Take a look here for setting up eix
http://wiki.sabayonlinux.org/index.php? ... #Using_EIX

o
+1. If you are using portage, you NEED eix. It's not a matter to choice. Eix is the search app that portage should have been built with, but wasn't.
chickpea
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2007 15:08
Location: Washington, DC

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby thenthenio » Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:42

um you have to use netscape-flash-10 for the 64 bit version. Just a reminder. It is hardmasked, so if you didn't unmask it then you probably only installed flashplayer 9, not 10. I would verify this if I were you.

II checked and this is the result:
Code: Select all
# emerge -s netscape-flash
Searching...
[ Results for search key : netscape-flash ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  net-www/netscape-flash
      Latest version available: 10_beta20080811
      Latest version installed: 9.0.124.0
      Size of files: 4,524 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.adobe.com/
      Description:   Adobe Flash Player
      License:       AdobeFlash-9.0.31.0

So you are right.
Starting from 3.5 I moved to Entropy, I'm not using Portage anymore because I need an easy to upgrade and stable system.
How could I upgrade using Entropy?
Actually it says everything is up to date!

Cheers
thenthenio
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 23:11
Location: Melegnano (MI) Italy

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby wolfden » Tue Nov 25, 2008 13:19

thenthenio wrote:
um you have to use netscape-flash-10 for the 64 bit version. Just a reminder. It is hardmasked, so if you didn't unmask it then you probably only installed flashplayer 9, not 10. I would verify this if I were you.

II checked and this is the result:
Code: Select all
# emerge -s netscape-flash
Searching...
[ Results for search key : netscape-flash ]
[ Applications found : 1 ]

*  net-www/netscape-flash
      Latest version available: 10_beta20080811
      Latest version installed: 9.0.124.0
      Size of files: 4,524 kB
      Homepage:      http://www.adobe.com/
      Description:   Adobe Flash Player
      License:       AdobeFlash-9.0.31.0

So you are right.
Starting from 3.5 I moved to Entropy, I'm not using Portage anymore because I need an easy to upgrade and stable system.
How could I upgrade using Entropy?
Actually it says everything is up to date!

Cheers


It's not available in the 3.5 branch - 4.0 branch only
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: 64 bit Flash: On it's way

Postby thenthenio » Tue Nov 25, 2008 14:41

Ok, I'll wait!

Mauro
thenthenio
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 23:11
Location: Melegnano (MI) Italy

PreviousNext

Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests