Openoffice 3 install

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Openoffice 3 install

Postby carra » Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:43

Hi there,
how to install Openoffice 3?
I updated my Sabayon 3.5 box but I can't see the new Openoffice major release.
Should I build it from source through Portage?
Thanks in advance for helping.

carra from Italy
Phenom II X2 555 BE felicemente sbloccato a [email protected] | Asrock 890GM Pro3 | Corsair CX series 430W | Corsair A50 | Kingston 2x2GB HyperX+G.Skill ECO 2x2GB (courtesy of Jospeh) | SSD 64GB Kingston Now V100 | WD 1,5TB | WD 1TB SATA6 64MB Black
carra
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:44
Location: I-29012

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby chsims1 » Tue Oct 14, 2008 10:47

That's your choice carra :). Note that the package will need to be unmasked and that there is also a binary version available.
chsims1
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2007 8:53
Location: UK

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby albfneto » Tue Oct 14, 2008 20:40

Compile OpenOffice is very lon timing. is more easy to use the binary.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1725
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby WarraWarra » Tue Oct 14, 2008 21:45

Once it is in portage tree / emerge of gentoo then it should be on the way for us into equo as bin package.

But using emerge and a few hours you should be able to build it yourself if you do not wish to wait.

http://gentoo-portage.com/app-office/openoffice
http://go-oo.org/download/

http://download.go-oo.org/OOO300/ooo-bu ... 0.6.tar.gz
WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby albfneto » Tue Oct 14, 2008 23:54

Procedure for installation of OpenOffice easily, binary and via portage:

Log as root with>

su and password

remove the old OpenOffice:

emerge -C openoffice

update Portage:

emerge --sync
emerge -av portage

update dependencies:

emerge -va python && python-updater

if NOT want binary openoffice: (compilation, many yours!)

LINGUAS="cc" emerge -va openoffice SUBSTITUTE "cc" FOR YOUR LANGUAGE CODE, AS FOR EXAMPLE, "en"

If you will use the pre compiled OpenOffice, use this command:

LANGUAGE="XX" emerge -av openoffice-bin SUBSTITUTE "XX" FOR YOUR COUNTRY NUMERIC CODE, EXAMPLE: "55" FOR BRAZIL
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE
User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1725
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby madcow983 » Thu Nov 20, 2008 15:55

i can still use the 2.4 version...
but just for curiosity: how long do i have to wait to find openoffice3 available in equo?
:wink:
Last edited by madcow983 on Thu Nov 20, 2008 19:31, edited 1 time in total.
madcow983
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 20:09
Location: Bologna Italy

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Thu Nov 20, 2008 18:02

albfneto wrote:if NOT want binary openoffice: (compilation, many yours!)

LINGUAS="cc" emerge -va openoffice SUBSTITUTE "cc" FOR YOUR LANGUAGE CODE, AS FOR EXAMPLE, "en"

If you will use the pre compiled OpenOffice, use this command:

LANGUAGE="XX" emerge -av openoffice-bin SUBSTITUTE "XX" FOR YOUR COUNTRY NUMERIC CODE, EXAMPLE: "55" FOR BRAZIL


Actually, you had better look in the ebuild file. For example, the openoffice-bin-3.0.0.ebuild file looks for the LINGUAS environment variable, and I had to do:

Code: Select all
emerge -C openoffice openoffice-l10n-en_GB-2.4.1
LINGUAS="en_GB" emerge -1v =openoffice-bin-3.0.0


so presumably you would have to do:

Code: Select all
emerge -C openoffice openoffice-l10n-pt-2.4.1
LINGUAS="pt_BR" emerge -1v =openoffice-bin-3.0.0


EDIT: By the way, there was a bug in the ebuild for 3.0.0 that means the dictionaries do not get installed without some manual intervention -- see Gentoo Bugzilla bug report 242312:

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=242312
Last edited by Fitzcarraldo on Thu Jan 01, 2009 23:00, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby joost » Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:57

but just for curiosity: how long do i have to wait to find openoffice3 available in equo?


Sabayon 4.

@Fitzcarraldo
You might not noticed this, but we have our own OpenOffice ebuild. We splitted the languages in seperate packages.

http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/listing.php ... pp-office_
joost
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2582
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Openoffice 3 install

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Fri Nov 21, 2008 12:00

joost wrote:@Fitzcarraldo
You might not noticed this, but we have our own OpenOffice ebuild. We splitted the languages in seperate packages.

http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/listing.php ... pp-office_


According to:

http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/filedetails ... %2FReasons

these localised OOo ebuilds are for the source version of OOo 3.0.0 only, not the pre-compiled (bin) version, so I assume they would take several hours to compile (the last time I built openoffice it took around six hours). So I'll stick to emerging openoffice-bin. But thanks for pointing it out, as I hadn't noticed.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7985
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom


Return to Software in General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron