hplip bug [Solved]

Discussions Regarding Software

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Eldwist
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 17:20
Location: Milano, Italy

hplip bug [Solved]

Post by Eldwist » Wed Sep 10, 2008 14:31

Hello to all.
If you enable cups & hplip (I've a HP printer) and you reboot you end up to a console login.
No graph login, nothing, hplip deamon starting error ... that's all.
This is very surprising, HP printers has linux drivers and sabayon should work "out of the box".

I've tested on 3 different PC/laptop, and doesn't matter if you update your system before you'll enable the printer support.

I'm reinstalling right now, and I'll install the latest hplip before doing anything, just to check if it works.

Any idea ?

Regards
Eld
Last edited by Eldwist on Thu Sep 11, 2008 14:20, edited 2 times in total.

Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: hplip & cups bug

Post by Thev00d00 » Wed Sep 10, 2008 15:31

versions? Hardware?
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me

Eldwist
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 17:20
Location: Milano, Italy

Re: hplip & cups bug

Post by Eldwist » Wed Sep 10, 2008 16:01

Hello,
here are some more details :

Printer HP Photosmart C4380
HPLIP : 2.8.5
Software device manager : 14.0
Sabayon 3.5

The printer is connected via WIFI, no problem to discover it and print the test page.

Best Regards
Eld

Eldwist
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 17:20
Location: Milano, Italy

Re: hplip & cups bug

Post by Eldwist » Wed Sep 10, 2008 18:05

No Way :(

Here is a detailed error message :
.
.
.

Code: Select all

starting hpiod
start-stop-daemon: /usr/sbin/hpiod does not exist
starting hpssd
ERROR: hplip failed to start

.
.
.
localhost login:

Eldwist
Baby Hen
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2008 17:20
Location: Milano, Italy

Re: [SOLVED] hplip & cups bug

Post by Eldwist » Wed Sep 10, 2008 23:25

problem SOLVED,
thanks to snarfer from #sabayon IRC channel who told me that the hplip doesn't use an initscrip anymore, and he told me to remove it from rc-update.
Now the printer works, and the system boot fine.

Thanks
Eld

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: hplip & cups bug [Solved]

Post by wolfden » Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:34

it's [Solved] at the end per
viewtopic.php?f=57&t=1730

jokker
Young Hen
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 3:57
Location: Tucson, AZ
Contact:

Re: hplip bug [Solved]

Post by jokker » Mon Nov 17, 2008 4:46

How would you "remove" it from rc-update ? I do not understand what to do, thanks

Just found it on my own. For those interested in a real answer:

Code: Select all

# rc-update delete hplip
Alienware laptop
Intel Extreme
twin-Nvidia 9800 pci-express 16x SLI
4 GB ram
Raid0 twin sata2 10000rpm drives
Sabayon x86_64, Ubuntu x86_64, XP_64

Post Reply