Page 1 of 1

VirtualBox setup

Posted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:49
by msdobrescu
Hello,

I've read here:
Autoload modules on boot

With systemd

On new installs systemd is default init system.

Create a file with extension *.conf in directory /etc/modules-load.d/, e.g. virtualbox.conf. In this file write what modules should be loaded.

File content:

Code: Select all

 vboxdrv
 vboxnetadp
 vboxnetflt
What is this for, what do I lose to miss this configuration or what do I gain with it?

Thank you.

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 17:53
by albfneto
I used VirtualBox only few times, but i have in mind that these are Kernel Modules, they seems to me mandatory.
The configuration files may be only to force the modules to be loaded.

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 18:07
by msdobrescu
I don't see any difference with or without that setting.

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 18:29
by sabayonino
Maybe you need the virtualbox running kernel modules

Code: Select all

# equo i virtualbox-modules#$(uname -r) -a
Be sure your user is part of vboxusers member

Code: Select all

# gpasswd -a <your user> vboxusers
reboot to load the modules.

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 20:20
by msdobrescu
These are already installed and set.
I did not say it does not work.
I say there is no difference with or without the configuration file in /etc/modules-load.d, or I don't see it, hence I ask what is the purpose of that.

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 20:38
by sabayonino
Does systemd-modules-load service loaded ?

Code: Select all

$ systemctl status systemd-modules-load
?

if not , start the service

Code: Select all

# systemctl start systemd-modules-load
and add the service at boot

Code: Select all

systemctl enable  systemd-modules-load

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 21:37
by msdobrescu
It does.

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Mon Apr 01, 2019 21:52
by sabayonino
you can try to remove/ Virtualbox directory in your home (default : ~/.VirtualBox)

Backup its data contents before removing (or renaming)

Re: VirtualBox setup

Posted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 6:13
by msdobrescu
Yes, indeed, backing up it's a must whenever you tune something.
But I see no change.
What should I expect?