Vbox errors after update

Discussion for all VM - Installing, Software, Problems

Moderator: Moderators

Vbox errors after update

Postby Lazydog » Thu Mar 26, 2015 1:16

Hello everyone,

I just finished an update my system and when I tried to start vbox i got the foolowing;

Image

Image

I tried to run the program in the first pic but that doesn't seem to be installed.

What could have caused this and where should I start to fix this?
--
Regards
Robert
User avatar
Lazydog
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:21

Re: Vbox errors after update

Postby linuxfluesterer » Thu Mar 26, 2015 12:37

Hallo Robert.
You are using Sabayon distro? Because the pics you've added, I can't match to Sabayon. However, if you run Sabayon, then try this, pls. Open a console and get root. Then do the following:
Code: Select all
equo i virtualbox.bin
equo i virtualbox-modules#$(uname -r)

Of course, you need to reload the (new) installed vbox-modules.
you can do this without reboot by executing (as root):
Code: Select all
modprobe vboxdrv vboxnetflt vboxnetadp

Then you can execute VirtualBox. (I've checked here by myself after installing Kernel 3.19.1).

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 802
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Vbox errors after update

Postby Lazydog » Thu Mar 26, 2015 17:24

Thank you for the fast reply.

Yes, this is a Sabayon distro running KDE. Pics are captured using Ksnapshot.

Once I get home I'll try your suggestions and post back.

Thank you once again.
--
Regards
Robert
User avatar
Lazydog
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:21

Re: Vbox errors after update

Postby Lazydog » Fri Mar 27, 2015 0:33

Code: Select all
modprobe vboxdrv vboxnetflt vboxnetadp


This did the trick. Thank you kindly.
--
Regards
Robert
User avatar
Lazydog
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 3:21

Re: Vbox errors after update

Postby Stupot » Fri Mar 27, 2015 17:21

When you did your config update, you probably overwrote some configs.

https://wiki.sabayon.org/index.php?titl ... es_on_boot
Stupot
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1608
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA


Return to Virtual Managers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron