Howto: installing VMware-Player

Discussion for all VM - Installing, Software, Problems

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Aapmansz
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 22:41

Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by Aapmansz » Sun Nov 15, 2009 23:04

I have some vmware machines that I still want too run on Sabayon 5 KDE (O Yeah).

Vmware-player isn't in Entropy and "emerge vmware-player" breaks at some Gnome lib.

The solution: get the binary pakket from vmware.
(Sabayon kernel-sources are required for a succesfull installation)

After that you can start the vmware-installer, it will ask for your init.d dir.
Create /etc/vmware/init.d/rc0.d till rc6.d and tell the vmware installer those too use as runlevel dirs.

Installer creates a script "/etc/vmware/init.d/vmware" that loads the kernel-modules.

Those modules have to be loaded before you can play with vmware.

Have fun!

Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by Thev00d00 » Mon Nov 16, 2009 13:59

Or use virtualbox, open source, speedy, 3d acceleration and easy to install with equo install virtualbox-bin
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me

Callipyges
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 13:29
Location: Top of the Eiffel Tower

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by Callipyges » Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:50

No I'm not illiterate, just from somewhere else =)

Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by Thev00d00 » Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:50

A) Thats VMware workstation which is is ~£100
B) Thats on an old version of virtualbox Newer versions are available, which has meany speedups
C) That test was run on windows
D) That test was not using SMP for the guests
E) Virtualbox is open source, w00t.
F) Virtualbox supports more hosts, including solaris, BSD's etc
G) Virtualbox has FULL hardware virtualisation so applications run faster.
H) Virtualbox has more virtual network cards (8 vs 4)
I) Virtualbox has support virtual SCSI discs
J) Virtualbox supports direct iSCSI connection (guests can use disks hosted in an iSCSI pool as they main HDDs)
K) Virtualbox has OpenGL support (inc on linux guests)
L) Virtualbox has integrated RDP server for each VM
M) Virtualbox has remote USB support
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me

Callipyges
Young Hen
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 13:29
Location: Top of the Eiffel Tower

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by Callipyges » Tue Jan 12, 2010 15:25

On another hand vmware has

- Integrated VNC Server
- perfect desktop integration with linux
- Last directX working perfect
- Drag N Drop
- image capture and recording
- paravirtual kernel support
- use physical partition using GUI
- support parallel ports
- supports 8 Gb ram (instead of 2560 MB of 4GB)

Vmware Player is free, You can get pre-configured machine from (Workstation trial) and run it under Vmware Player

With Vmware Network configuration is quite easier and less complicated on Linux host. and also better with handling USB devices

I tried VirtualBox but I don't find a way to run an existing OS on a physical partition

Both have their own Advantages and Disadvantages, after it depends on what type of use you want.
No I'm not illiterate, just from somewhere else =)

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by joutlan » Thu Nov 25, 2010 6:29

Thev00d00 wrote:Or use virtualbox, open source, speedy, 3d acceleration and easy to install with equo install virtualbox-bin
Voodoo....is that one in repos the PUEL version with USB? That's what I need.....thanks !!
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

and78386
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:12

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by and78386 » Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:18

As far as i know Virtualbox PUEL is not open source. It's proprietary as VMware Player, isn't it? If you want Virtualbox as open source version you have to use Virtualbox OSE, but in OSE you don't have USB support for example.

Correct?

joutlan
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:00
Location: Orlando, Florida
Contact:

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by joutlan » Sat Nov 27, 2010 0:35

and78386 wrote:As far as i know Virtualbox PUEL is not open source. It's proprietary as VMware Player, isn't it? If you want Virtualbox as open source version you have to use Virtualbox OSE, but in OSE you don't have USB support for example.

Correct?
Correct....what I'm looking for is whether the repo version is PUEL or OSE? I don't want the OSE.....
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.3 x64

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by wolfden » Sun Nov 28, 2010 13:13

joutlan wrote: Correct....what I'm looking for is whether the repo version is PUEL or OSE? I don't want the OSE.....
as it says here:
http://gentoo-portage.com/app-emulation/virtualbox-bin

License: PUEL

Pollo_Loco
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:35
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: Howto: installing VMware-Player

Post by Pollo_Loco » Wed Dec 01, 2010 18:26

thanks Wolfden....I'm the same person as joutlan :)
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.4 x64

Post Reply