Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by DontPanic » Wed Sep 12, 2007 21:47

I've been going through my USE flags, trying to organize them into a more manageable order, and adapting them for my personal use. Organizing them was tough, since they can be kind of arcane, and may actually fit into multiple categories. But here's what I ended up with in the USE Flags portion of my make.conf...

Code: Select all

#
# USE Flag Definition
#
# Change Log:
#   * Enabled gnome, gtk, and gtk2 as per my personal preference.
#   * Deleted 'qt' (which isn't used as a flag anwhere), and added
#        'qt3', 'qt4', and 'qt3support' flags.
#   * Deleted -gtk1, but didn't enable it.  Just left it out.
#   * Added opengl, sdl, png, and gif flags.
#   * Added mpeg flag.
#   * Added 'arts' USE Flag since KDE appears to already be compiled
#        that way, but I'm not 100% sure I want it.
#   * Conflicting esd entries (both -esd and esd) resolved to esd enabled
#   * Conflicting kereboros entries (entered three times) resolved
#        to kereboros enabled.
#   * libao removed (not a valid flag).  'ao' is a valid flag, but sabayon
#        is currently working fine without 'ao'.
#   * Deleted 'commercial' tag.  Not used anywhere.
#   * Deleted 'streams' tag.  It's not used anywhere. Leaving the similar,
#        active 'stream' tag, and added the 'gstreamer' tag.
#   * Deleted 'exscalibar' flag, no longer in use.
#   * Deleted 'switch_all_desktops' tag.  Not used anywhere.
#   * Deleted 'livecd'.  Sabayon needs this for livecd distribution,
#        the end-user doesn't in a desktop environment.
#   * Deleted 'webservices' flag.  Not used anywhere.
#   * Deleted 'chm'.  This flag is used by beagle, and I have removed
#        beagle from my system.
#   * Deleted 'spreadsheet'.  Not used anywhere.
#   * Deleted second 'dv' instance (in there twice).
#   * Deleted 'dvi'.  Only used in evince, which I don't have loaded.
#   * Deleted 'ext-man', 'ext-rtf', and 'ext-tex'.  They aren't used anywhere.
#   * Deleted 'asf'.  Not used anywhere.
#
# System/Hardware/Core Libs
#
USE="nptl nptlonly udev hal dbus acpi -apm kqemu startup-notification libnotify \
     sysfs fat xfs ntfs reiserfs reiser4 quotas \
     pam_console pwdb kerberos krb4 -winbind ole avahi \
     cdr pda ipod zeroconf lm_sensors gnutls mdnsresponder-compat unicode \
     usb aiglx 3dfx mmx subversion slang lzo rar 7Zip bzip2 \
     X opengl cairo glitz freetype truetype xscreensaver new-login xprint \
     nvidia dlloader xosd dga dri xcb fftw bidi slp "
#
# Networking - Server
#
USE="${USE} apache2 xsl xml php sockets samba cups ppds foomatic-db imap libclamav \
     mysql sql sqlite "
#
# Networking - Client
#
USE="${USE} firefox moznocompose moznoirc moznomail javascript \
     nsplugin flash irc rss jingle lj rdesktop "
#
# Perl / Python / Other Languages and Interpreted Languages
#
USE="${USE} ruby java mono pascal ada "
#
# Media (Sound, Image, Video)
#
USE="${USE} esd alsa -oss voice mp3 x264 aac lame mp3rtp ogg vorbis \
     gsm speex flac live audiofile openal pulseaudio sndfile sdl \
     win32codecs musepack real quicktime dts \
     jpeg mjpeg png gif tiff svg mng xpm wmf pdf gs djvu gd \
     libcaca aalib gimpprint gphoto2 dv skins \
     xine xinerama ffmpeg mpeg dxr3 mythtv v4l2 v4l xvid dvb dbox2 \
     dvd theora a52 css dvdr dvdread cpudetection cdda xvmc vcd \
     stream gstreamer network fame lcd scanner "
#
# KDE
#
USE="${USE} kde qt3 qt4 qt3support kdeenablefinal kdehiddenvisibility \
     arts artswrappersuid musicbrainz amarok visualization config_wizard kipi \
     povray extraicons extramodules mail speech clearcase "
#
# Gnome / GTK
#
USE="${USE} gnome gtk gtk2 -evo -eds wxwindows guile -beagle "
#
# Unsorted
#
USE="${USE} plugin inkjar effects xen "
I'm not 100% sure my change log includes all my flag changes. I made some before I started keeping a change log, and I had to fill those in by memory.

Please post a reply if you see a mistake here. Also, I'd love to hear if anybody else has come up with a better way to put their USE Flags in order.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by wolfden » Wed Sep 12, 2007 23:12

That is great that you do that. Setting the config files to your hardware and computer usage will produce a much more solid and error free system. It will also make updating much easier as you will have less conflicts. This is where the power of gentoo based systems comes from.

I give ya 5 Gold Stars!

Now the question is, how do we get the rest of the community to do such things??

runtt21
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Aug 04, 2007 21:12

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by runtt21 » Thu Sep 13, 2007 0:31

OK, after the install I need to check the "/etc/make.conf " file in the konsole/terminal, and make sure I have the same flags that you have in your list so everything (like googlearth, games and video)will work .Right? I think you guys should sign up to be beta testers next time.

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8200
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:06

^Umm.. roughly speaking, yes, but things are a bit more complicated than that. For example, if you have an ATI card you wouldn't want "nvidia" as one of the global USE flags in /etc/make.conf. So you have to be careful what you're doing, as some of the USE flags might not be applicable to your situation.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by wolfden » Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:13

runtt21 wrote:OK, after the install I need to check the "/etc/make.conf " file in the konsole/terminal, and make sure I have the same flags that you have in your list so everything (like googlearth, games and video)will work .Right? I think you guys should sign up to be beta testers next time.
you have to set it up to your hardware and computer usage - you can't simply copy and paste another's make.conf

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8200
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu Sep 13, 2007 13:11

Could the make.conf file on the LiveDVD be tidied up by the devs, though? For example, I had a quick look at the global USE flags in the freshly-installed-to-HDD make.conf for 3.4f on my laptop and there are two instances of 'dvi', two of 'nsplugin' and three of 'musicbrainz'. I didn't check the list carefully, so perhaps there are other duplicates. Are these duplicates/triplicates intentional? Are these USE flags inserted automatically during the installation process, or is the as-installed make.conf incorrect?

Should there be a project to improve the default list of global USE flags in the as-installed make.conf? So many people seem to be having trouble with these global USE flags that it would appear it is something worth looking at.

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by DontPanic » Thu Sep 13, 2007 14:46

runtt21 wrote:OK, after the install I need to check the "/etc/make.conf " file in the konsole/terminal, and make sure I have the same flags that you have in your list so everything (like googlearth, games and video)will work .Right?
The example USE Flags shown in my post have been customized to my hardware and personal preferences. I tried to maintain a change log to indicate the reason behind my deviations from the default make.conf, but my change log is not complete. For instance, I've removed some video card USE flags for hardware I don't have, and I've removed several laptop-specific USE flags since I'm on a desktop, but I don't think I captured those changes in my log.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

Post Reply