Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

MeaCulpa
Young Hen
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 16:08
Location: Shanghai, China

Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by MeaCulpa » Wed Aug 29, 2007 15:50

Fresh AMd64 3.4e installed. As my personal understanding, found some missing flags for my taste
(Or this is not missing but just need to be configured?).
"opengl sdl"
Found this missing after I emerged ET and it failed on libGL. While Manually install UT2k4 worked.
I noticed google earth and secondlife. They are installed, but simply fail on the same point.
"qt3 qt4 qt3support"
there is a huge gap between qt3 and qt4 so simply a "qt" flag might cause problem on some apps
"gtk"
As is qt, my defualt flag is only gtk2, should include this.

Hmm I'm a noob in gentoo/SL, pls, comment if my understanding is wrong.
After my first emerge I say I still don't trust the whole portage thing :?
And not sure about how use flags handle critical multiple lib versions for gtk/qt/python
Can I easily hold multiple versions of gcc/libc/python by emerge?

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by wolfden » Wed Aug 29, 2007 22:06

yes there is critical use flags missing - been addressed several times.

davemc
Sharecropper
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 17:08
Location: Virginia, usa

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by davemc » Thu Aug 30, 2007 4:07

wolfden wrote:yes there is critical use flags missing - been addressed several times.
Nice its been addressed.. Hope the next release does not contain these kinds of critical errors.

dukdukgoos
Young Hen
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:39

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by dukdukgoos » Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:30

wolfden wrote:yes there is critical use flags missing - been addressed several times.
What are the missing flags, or where can I read more?

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by wolfden » Thu Aug 30, 2007 6:55

opengl qt4 qt3 qt3support gtk sdl png gif

it's scattered all over the forums

This is why google earth, games, video, fusion-icon, etc... are all having problems for people.

dukdukgoos
Young Hen
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 9:39

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by dukdukgoos » Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:23

Ah, I added most of those on my own, guess that's why I haven't noticed. Thanks!

WarraWarra
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1989
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 21:01
Location: 31.324270, -113.585511

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by WarraWarra » Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:05

This will help if you need to manually add them.

http://gentoo-portage.com/USE

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by DontPanic » Thu Aug 30, 2007 16:10

Bleh! Looks like I missed some of these.

Silly me! I was thinking: "Why wouldn't I want to use only the faster qt4, and leave qt3 off?"

What about the 'mpeg' use flag? I noticed my make.conf was missing that flag, and I added it back. But it might have just been me accidently deleting it.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

DontPanic
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 20:29
Location: Mobile, AL, USA

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by DontPanic » Thu Aug 30, 2007 18:01

While we're collecting USE flag issues, it seems like 3.4e still has the issue with '-esd' and 'esd' both being set.

As near as I can tell, the second 'esd' flag over-rides the initial '-esd' flag.

Would these be appropriate for a bug report to help the developers track this issue?

I wouldn't mind filing one unless these aren't the kind of issues they want in their bug tracker.
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU [email protected] 2.66GHz
nVidia GeForce 7600 GS
2 GB RAM

BlueJayofEvil
Growing Hen
Posts: 183
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 3:30
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Hmm...3.4e fresh install misses some USE flags?

Post by BlueJayofEvil » Sun Sep 02, 2007 5:20

Maybe the list of critical missing flags should be stickied?

Post Reply