Fresh install issues

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sat Jun 30, 2018 18:28

Hi everybody!

I've re-installed my Sabayon from scratch - some of you already know that!
But now, things working before crash in various ways. I need solutions to these, please!

1. System complains all over about the locales

A typical error looks like this:

Code: Select all

/var/tmp/entropy/sys-kernel/linux-sabayon-4.16.16/LWhRW4/portage/sys-kernel/linux-sabayon-4.16.16/temp/environment: line 214: warning: setlocale: LC_NUMERIC: cannot change locale (ro_RO.UTF-8)
/var/tmp/entropy/sys-kernel/linux-sabayon-4.16.16/LWhRW4/portage/sys-kernel/linux-sabayon-4.16.16/temp/environment: line 215: warning: setlocale: LC_TIME: cannot change locale (ro_RO.UTF-8)
It can be crashed further by setting the preferred language as RO instead of US English:

Code: Select all

invalid filesystem encoding ANSI_X3.4-1968, must be UTF-8.
Then many apps won't start at all, especially the GTK ones, like GParted.

Could be the effect of choosing a RO keyboard in Anaconda wizard?

Well, KDE does that now, and even if I have removed them from plasma-locale-settings.sh.sh and plasma-localerc in my profile, still appear.
I prefer English in the UI, but I'd like to have my local measurement units at least.

I've set all US English for the moment, but it worked as RO all over before this re-install, despite it was installed from the KDE with US English.
What happens?

Bonus: Fun fact: I add preferred languages as US English, then as RO, then all the GTK UI starts speaking RO. That after removed from KDE files above!

2. I need KAlarm - no Akonadi was working, I had to create this directory:

Code: Select all

~/.local/share/akonadi/db_data/
For some reason it couldn't be created automatically - here I have a solution for this one, in case someone needs it.

One done.

3. Samba - this always does something lately.

Now, can't start, logs are empty:

Code: Select all

systemctl status nmbd 
● nmbd.service - Samba NetBIOS name server
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/nmbd.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Sat 2018-06-30 19:54:28 EEST; 25min ago
  Process: 2278 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/nmbd -D (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Jun 30 19:54:25 USC systemd[1]: Starting Samba NetBIOS name server...
Jun 30 19:54:28 USC systemd[1]: nmbd.service: Control process exited, code=exited status=1
Jun 30 19:54:28 USC systemd[1]: Failed to start Samba NetBIOS name server.
Jun 30 19:54:28 USC systemd[1]: nmbd.service: Unit entered failed state.
Jun 30 19:54:28 USC systemd[1]: nmbd.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
and

Code: Select all

systemctl status nmbd 
● smbd.service - Samba SMB/CIFS server
   Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/smbd.service; enabled; vendor preset: disabled)
   Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Sat 2018-06-30 19:54:29 EEST; 26min ago
  Process: 2332 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/smbd -D (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)

Jun 30 19:54:28 USC systemd[1]: Starting Samba SMB/CIFS server...
Jun 30 19:54:29 USC systemd[1]: smbd.service: Control process exited, code=exited status=1
Jun 30 19:54:29 USC systemd[1]: Failed to start Samba SMB/CIFS server.
Jun 30 19:54:29 USC systemd[1]: smbd.service: Unit entered failed state.
Jun 30 19:54:29 USC systemd[1]: smbd.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
Why? What should I do? I have the same config as before, checked against the new and sample one, nothing to note there.

4. Need KDE hack to import the old desktop widgets setup - this is just for fun! Didn't KDE team think of this?

5. The boot: Grub works well, defaults are kept, but after GRUB, It has something new, right before the logon. At that step, It has got the kernel messages, they are also now listed, but scrambled by some ... loader? It is the same as the live version, where it starts with 3 rectangles, animated to show some progress, but before was not (read before as the previous install). At some point, some text form the kernel loading process is presented, replacing lines, resulting in a mix that makes Dadaism proud! Also, the resolution is close to VGA. How could be fixed that?

Also, I have noticed, when kernel switching, that bbswitch is added to it. Could I remove that? It is an nVidia only system.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sat Jun 30, 2018 21:43

Solution to 4. Take the activity id from ~/.config/plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc, replace the old activity id in the old plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc file, then keep the old and altered this way file.
The activity id is necessary to match the plasmoids/widgets with the activity and so they will magically appear on the desktop, including all their setup, task bar etc.. Keep in mind to have all the necessary applets, even third party ones, downloaded through KDE's "get new widgets", "get new themes" etc..

5. Addendum: the CTRL+ALT+Fx consoles have the low resolution too.

6. New one. I've accidentally locked the screen. I was listening a radio in VLC. So I could change the channel during the locked screen. I could even switch the user. But I couldn't unlock my KDE session. I remember reading about this. Don't remember where.

7. Tip: mouse cursor theme was mixed up with other. I had to chose some exact cursor resolution in order to be fixed.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:47

msdobrescu wrote:
Sat Jun 30, 2018 21:43
7. Tip: mouse cursor theme was mixed up with other. I had to chose some exact cursor resolution in order to be fixed.
Not for long, something schizophrenically sets entis cursor back. It is SO annoying!

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 10:21

3. Solved. I have increased the log level to 10, so I've got an error, eventually:

Code: Select all

directory_create_or_exist_strict: invalid ownership on directory /var/lock/samba/msg.lock
For some reason, although I did not create it manually, it was assigned to my user instead of root. Fixed that by changing the ownership to root and Samba starts. I wish I know why this happened.

One more thing: I have media players, TVs, even mobile devices finding it. All except Sabayon installations that won't discover samba shares in Dolphin, unless I provide the computer name manually.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 18:11

1. Hi, question: is somebody using some installation of KDE from an English iso, with other locales set as region, language etc. and not having the messages like these all over?

Code: Select all

invalid filesystem encoding ANSI_X3.4-1968, must be UTF-8.
Make sure to set LC_ALL, LANG, LANGUAGE to valid UTF-8 values.
Please execute:
  LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8 /usr/bin/kernel-switcher list
Trying to force en_US.UTF-8.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 18:31

7. Weird. The GTK cursor seems not to be set for some reason. I have set it in ~.config/gtk-3.0/settings.ini, and it leaves the my cursor of choice as need it. Now I remember I had this in the past.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by sabayonino » Sun Jul 01, 2018 19:01

msdobrescu wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 18:11
1. Hi, question: is somebody using some installation of KDE from an English iso, with other locales set as region, language etc. and not having the messages like these all over?

Code: Select all

invalid filesystem encoding ANSI_X3.4-1968, must be UTF-8.
Make sure to set LC_ALL, LANG, LANGUAGE to valid UTF-8 values.
Please execute:
  LC_ALL=en_US.UTF-8 /usr/bin/kernel-switcher list
Trying to force en_US.UTF-8.

Code: Select all

# localectl
I think you have missing locale configuration

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Sun Jul 01, 2018 19:35

Everything set as 'No change", no preferred language:

Code: Select all

localectl
   System Locale: LANG=en_US.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: us
      X11 Layout: us,ro
     X11 Variant: ,
Set all except Collation and Soritnig to RO:

Code: Select all

localectl
   System Locale: LANG=en_US.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: us
      X11 Layout: us,ro
     X11 Variant: ,
     
/etc/locale.conf is same for both:

Code: Select all

LANG="en_US.UTF-8"
Difference lays in other config files:

plasma-locale-settings.sh, from:

Code: Select all

# Generated script, do not edit
# Exports language-format specific env vars from startkde.
# This script has been generated from kcmshell5 formats.
# It will automatically be overwritten from there.
export LANGUAGE=en_US
became:

Code: Select all

# Generated script, do not edit
# Exports language-format specific env vars from startkde.
# This script has been generated from kcmshell5 formats.
# It will automatically be overwritten from there.
export LANG=ro_RO.UTF-8
export LC_NUMERIC=ro_RO.UTF-8
export LC_TIME=ro_RO.UTF-8
export LC_MONETARY=ro_RO.UTF-8
export LC_MEASUREMENT=ro_RO.UTF-8
export LANGUAGE=en_US

plasma-localerc, from:

Code: Select all

[Formats]
useDetailed=true

[Translations]
LANGUAGE=en_US
became:

Code: Select all

[Formats]
LANG=ro_RO.UTF-8
LC_MEASUREMENT=ro_RO.UTF-8
LC_MONETARY=ro_RO.UTF-8
LC_NUMERIC=ro_RO.UTF-8
LC_TIME=ro_RO.UTF-8
useDetailed=true

[Translations]
LANGUAGE=en_US
Also:

Code: Select all

locale -ck LC_TIME
LC_TIME
abday="Sun;Mon;Tue;Wed;Thu;Fri;Sat"
day="Sunday;Monday;Tuesday;Wednesday;Thursday;Friday;Saturday"
abmon="Jan;Feb;Mar;Apr;May;Jun;Jul;Aug;Sep;Oct;Nov;Dec"
mon="January;February;March;April;May;June;July;August;September;October;November;December"
am_pm="AM;PM"
d_t_fmt="%a %d %b %Y %r %Z"
d_fmt="%m/%d/%Y"
t_fmt="%r"
t_fmt_ampm="%I:%M:%S %p"
era=
era_year=""
era_d_fmt=""
alt_digits=
era_d_t_fmt=""
era_t_fmt=""
time-era-num-entries=0
time-era-entries="S"
week-ndays=7
week-1stday=19971130
week-1stweek=1
first_weekday=1
first_workday=2
cal_direction=1
timezone=""
date_fmt="%a %b %e %H:%M:%S %Z %Y"
time-codeset="UTF-8"
became:

Code: Select all

locale -ck LC_TIME
locale: Cannot set LC_CTYPE to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_MESSAGES to default locale: No such file or directory
locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
LC_TIME
abday="Sun;Mon;Tue;Wed;Thu;Fri;Sat"
day="Sunday;Monday;Tuesday;Wednesday;Thursday;Friday;Saturday"
abmon="Jan;Feb;Mar;Apr;May;Jun;Jul;Aug;Sep;Oct;Nov;Dec"
mon="January;February;March;April;May;June;July;August;September;October;November;December"
am_pm="AM;PM"
d_t_fmt="%a %b %e %H:%M:%S %Y"
d_fmt="%m/%d/%y"
t_fmt="%H:%M:%S"
t_fmt_ampm="%I:%M:%S %p"
era=
era_year=""
era_d_fmt=""
alt_digits=
era_d_t_fmt=""
era_t_fmt=""
time-era-num-entries=0
time-era-entries=""
week-ndays=7
week-1stday=19971130
week-1stweek=4
first_weekday=1
first_workday=2
cal_direction=1
timezone=""
date_fmt="%a %b %e %H:%M:%S %Z %Y"
time-codeset="ANSI_X3.4-1968"

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3310
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by sabayonino » Sun Jul 01, 2018 23:31

for your language support

Code: Select all

# localectl set-locale LANG=ro_RO.UTF-8

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 678
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: Fresh install issues

Post by msdobrescu » Mon Jul 02, 2018 22:57

sabayonino wrote:
Sun Jul 01, 2018 23:31
for your language support

Code: Select all

# localectl set-locale LANG=ro_RO.UTF-8
So, it's KDE? This would induce the error.
I remember having trouble with KDE in the past regarding the name of some files that were created with different codepage.
I had to handle them with Nautilus.
It seems there is not a solution here. I've found out now that it is impossible to set some specific time or date formats.
Plasma 5 does not have a UI for that and other localization formats. Unbelievable!
I tend to migrate to Gnome!

Post Reply