After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open [Solved].

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by sabayonino » Mon Jun 04, 2018 0:43

You can try to use x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-340.xx and its related kernel version (nvidia legacy)

Code: Select all

equo s -qv nvidia-drivers
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-304.137#4.1.0-sabayon
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-304.137#4.4.0-sabayon
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-304.137#4.9.0-sabayon
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-340.104#4.1.0-sabayon
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-340.104#4.14.0-sabayon
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-340.104#4.4.0-sabayon
x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-340.104#4.9.0-sabayon
[...]
and mask latest nvidia.drivers

Code: Select all

# equo mask ">=x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-396.24"
Be sure that /etc/entropy/package.mask files exists. if not

Code: Select all

# touch /etc/entropy/package.mask && equo mask "equo mask >=x11-drivers/nvidia-drivers-396.24"
tnen you can mask the nvidia-drivers as explaned

nvidia-340.10 drivers version are available up to 4.14 kernel version

Be sure to switch to the 4.14 linux.sabayon kernel if you're not running this.
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 627
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by msdobrescu » Mon Jun 04, 2018 4:29

Thanks, I know, but I had issues with that kernel too, 390 should have been - but, still, it would bind me to the a specific kernel version.
Nouveau is so bad for me too. It works at the right resolution and frequency now, but it performs somehow ... fragmented. The max FPS is 21.
I hate this, the only way is to buy a newer video card, which is not normal. I have a 560Ti card, that would be pretty expensive to replace and hard to find something at the same performance due to miners. I know because I've tried already.

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 627
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by msdobrescu » Mon Jun 04, 2018 12:46

Hi, as told before, I have nVidia, several Sabayon systems on different computers.
What I've found in time, comparing installations and from other users feed-back here on this forum, is that the older the install is, the bigger differences are accumulating in time (for instance I could not run Celestia without some libs path).
So, presuming there are identical installations because they are on the same PC is wrong (as we see already here...).
There is some dependency kept for long time, or something misconfigured at a specific point in time.
I am sure comparing the systems will reveal that. It is about different configuration scripts applied to the same hardware at different points in time.
So, the thing breaks at some point, the experience will help you find it. I know, it might be painful, but don't expect to have the systems identical and look deeper.

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by albfneto » Mon Jun 04, 2018 19:16

I continue to trying solve:

1. I observed another issue... even when edit the file, after reboot it is automatically edited...

in the file /etc/X11/xog.conf.d/20opengl.conf

the line about xorg modules disapeared:

in my working sabayon install is this:

Code: Select all

Section "Files"
	ModulePath "/usr/lib64/xorg/modules"
EndSection
but in the non working sabayon is this:

Code: Select all

Section "Files"
EndSection

2. when i use ldxm (since sddm not works) and opened a session in XFCE-xfwm4 or in MATE-MARCO, this works...

in condition of I not change the window manager to Compiz.... If i try this, the window blinks, and blinks forever.... I removed and installed the driver xf86-video-ati, but this nor solve the issue

seems that my 3D accel not working anymore.
[/code]

The line of the ModulePath dissapears automatic, even when it is edited.

another issue. my ATI board uses Mesa and Gallium. Mesa is installed, but "eselect mesa list" not return anything:

Code: Select all

$ eix mesa:
Available versions:  17.3.9^d (~)18.0.4^d (~)18.1.0^d (~)18.1.0-r1^d (~)18.1.1^d **9999^d {bindist +classic d3d9 debug +dri3 +egl +gallium +gbm gles1 gles2 +llvm +nptl opencl openmax osmesa pax_kernel pic selinux unwind vaapi valgrind vdpau vulkan wayland xa xvmc ABI_MIPS="n32 n64 o32" ABI_PPC="32 64" ABI_S390="32 64" ABI_X86="32 64 x32" VIDEO_CARDS="freedreno i915 i965 imx intel nouveau r100 r200 r300 r600 radeon radeonsi vc4 virgl vivante vmware"}
     Installed versions:  18.1.1^d(10:39:47 04-06-2018)
   
   $  eselect mesa list:
   eselect mesa list
!!! Error: Can't load module mesa
exiting
more infos, verified: Driver and kernel modules are OK:

Code: Select all

sudo lspci -nnk
Senha: 
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
00:18.5 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 15h Processor Function 5 [1022:1605]
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS880 [Radeon HD 4250] [1002:9715]
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. M5A88-V EVO [1043:843e]
	Kernel driver in use: radeon
	Kernel modules: radeon
01:05.1 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RS880 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4200 Series] [1002:970f]
	Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. M5A88-V EVO [1043:843e]
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
	Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series] [1002:68f9]
	Subsystem: XFX Pine Group Inc. Cedar [Radeon HD 5000/6000/7350/8350 Series] [1682:303e]
	Kernel driver in use: radeon
	Kernel modules: radeon
i tried the driver amdgpu, but it not works, since the DRM versions not match. No new DRM packages are found, even in gentoo or overlays.



Message to MSDOSBRESCU:

No, is not the same problem, mu video board is an AMD ATI, not a NVIDIA. No resolution problems, my problem is i dont have 3D accel anymore.

For your NVIDIA. When you switched of to nouveau, you removed all the nvidia packages?
Last edited by albfneto on Tue Jun 05, 2018 17:47, edited 2 times in total.
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 627
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by msdobrescu » Tue Jun 05, 2018 8:19

Hi, I have removed all nvidia I could find by Rigo, but I think there were some things left.
Anyway, using Nouveau and reinstalling Mesa has lead me to something similar to yours, meaning the screen blinks forever too.
It is impossible to use it this way. I'm curious what is the reason for this and the low FPS. Probably some setting, but I don't find what (nor that I have much knowledge on this). Now that I think on it, probably Mesa did not work correctly for me because I couldn't start Celestia without pointing it to the nVidia libs (when I had nVidia drivers).

User avatar
albfneto
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1871
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:15
Location: Ribeirão Preto City, São Paulo State, Brazil
Contact:

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by albfneto » Tue Jun 05, 2018 21:34

In my comp, this not solve my issue, is the same, mesa works, but 3D accel not

but if you want, you may try downgrade of mesa. CAUTION...

Code: Select all

$ equo s mesa (See the version, the latest is 18.0.4 in the weekly repo and 18.1.1 in the sabayonlinux repo) if it is 18.1.1:

$ cd /
$  cd var/lib/entropy/client/packages/packages/amd64/5/ (go to the packages dir)
$ cd media-libs (go to the category of the package dir)

# wget http://mirror1.mirror.garr.it/mirrors/sabayonlinux/entropy/standard/sabayonlinux.org/packages/amd64/5/media-libs/media-libs:mesa-18.0.4.f7d059f40fb2e532db2714f8e725d62446ebb220~0.tbz2 (this will download the package in instalable form the package is only in weekly repo now)

# equo rm  --configfiles --nodeps mesa (do not forget the --nodeps option!) (this remove the package mesa with not removing deps)

# equo i media-libs:mesa-18.0.4.f7d059f40fb2e532db2714f8e725d62446ebb220~0.tbz2 (this install the downgraded version of the mesa package)
If this solve your problem, you may mask the mesa package, in order to no more changed:

Code: Select all

# equo mask mesa
ALBERTO FEDERMAN NETO
albfneto
[email protected]
Favorite Distros: Sabayon, Gentoo, Mageia and OpenSUSE

Tedel
Growing Hen
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 5:32
Location: Peru
Contact:

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by Tedel » Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:22

Could this be of any use?

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1 ... -xorg.html

Check the note about Nouveau being enabled and test, please. (I can't do it myself because I only have one computer so I don't know if I will be able to roll back if I get the same error.)

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 627
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by msdobrescu » Wed Jun 06, 2018 19:25

Hi, after today's updates:

Code: Select all

eselect mesa
!!! Error: Can't load module mesa
exiting
Edit: mesa eselect module was removed, there is none in the repos, I've found a message about that during the system upgrade.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by sabayonino » Wed Jun 06, 2018 19:47

from mesa ebuild , eselect-mesa support was dropped

https://gitweb.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.g ... 1.1.ebuild

Code: Select all

[...]
RDEPEND="
	!app-eselect/eselect-mesa
	>=app-eselect/eselect-opengl-1.3.0
	>=dev-libs/expat-2.1.0-r3:=[${MULTILIB_USEDEP}]
	>=sys-libs/zlib-1.2.8[${MULTILIB_USEDEP}][...]
see https://gitweb.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.g ... 10310d6468 commit
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 627
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48

Re: After Upgrades.... KDE not open, SDDM not open

Post by msdobrescu » Wed Jun 06, 2018 19:53

Yes, but I've found some thread where somebody had an issue for having i965, but could not set it.
Anyway, how is gallium installed?

Post Reply