GRUB menu [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

GRUB menu [Solved]

Postby moldmaker » Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:57

After the last system update, the GRUB menu list is reduced to only Sabayon. Before, it listed all installed OS on the computer (one more Linux and two Windows installations).
How can I get the entries back?

Edit: I already tried
Code: Select all
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

and it worked just fine, but the menu items for the other OS are still missing.

Mm.
Last edited by moldmaker on Sat Oct 21, 2017 14:57, edited 2 times in total.
moldmaker
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 18:54

Re: GRUB menu

Postby sabayonino » Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:09

is sys-boot/os-prober package installed ?
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 3100
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: GRUB menu

Postby moldmaker » Sat Oct 21, 2017 13:16

Yes, it is installed (and has been before).

Mm.
moldmaker
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 18:54

Re: GRUB menu

Postby moldmaker » Sat Oct 21, 2017 14:56

I solved the problem now by extracting the grub.cfg from an older partition image I made some weeks ago. Then I copied it to the correct location in /boot/grub. Now the menu is complete again.

Still a little confused because this did not happen with earlier system updates/upgrades. However, I marked the thread as solved.

Mm.
moldmaker
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 18:54

Re: GRUB menu [Solved]

Postby ypell » Sat Oct 21, 2017 17:39

Hi there, I have the same problem. I lost the Windows menu entry after upgrading my kernel. For some reason, os-prober and grub2-mkconfig don't seem to offer a solution. Unfortunately, I do not have the benefit of an old grub.cfg laying around. Any suggestions? Thanks.
ypell
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 13:31

Re: GRUB menu [Solved]

Postby ypell » Sun Oct 22, 2017 0:37

Alright. Following up on my own post.

Among several google searches I found something that worked. I mounted the Windows boot partition, /dev/sda1 in my case, as in:
# mount /dev/sda1 /media

And then os-prober found the Windows OS. After that, grub2-mkconfig worked and generated a menu item for Windows.
ypell
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2012 13:31

Re: GRUB menu [Solved]

Postby moldmaker » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:45

Ok thanks and good to know, better than my solution ....

Mm.
moldmaker
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 18:54

Re: GRUB menu [Solved]

Postby sabayonino » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:16

there is a bug for os-prober
https://bugs.gentoo.org/607518#c11

here https://bugs.gentoo.org/607518#c13 1.74 version works and 1.76 fails
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 3100
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: GRUB menu [Solved]

Postby msdobrescu » Sun Oct 29, 2017 21:47

Same here, but for MBR only, for UEFI works.
msdobrescu
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 542
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 8:48


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron