Language setting in K3b [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
moldmaker
Young Hen
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 18:54

Language setting in K3b [Solved]

Post by moldmaker » Sun Sep 03, 2017 20:37

HI everybody,

K3b apperas with the UI in english. I can live with that, but anyway I've been trying to set K3b to my language (which is german), but to no avail.
In the KDE options, I set the preferred language. And I installed the package "Kde4 L10n". In the program's options there is no entry for the UI language.
How do I proceed?

Mm.
Last edited by moldmaker on Tue Sep 05, 2017 20:47, edited 2 times in total.

Stupot
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1629
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:44
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA

Re: Language setting in K3b

Post by Stupot » Mon Sep 04, 2017 2:52

I noticed you can launch k3b from the command line and specify the language, in the form of locale. I can tell it's working from the command line, but it seems to produce mixed results, where the menu is still in english, but if you go into, say Settings and Plugins, the entries inside there are in german. If I had to guess, the rest of the menu is following a more generic KDE language setting.

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ k3b --lang de_DE --nosplash
21 21
QFileInfo::absolutePath: Constructed with empty filename
QUrl("file:///home/stupot/")
QUrl("file:///home/stupot")  will be expanded.
"Externer Audio-Kodierer" "k3bexternalencoder"
Loaded plugin "Externer Audio-Kodierer"
"CDDB-Audio-Modul" "k3baudioprojectcddbplugin"
Loaded plugin "CDDB-Audio-Modul"
"Ogg-Vorbis-Dekodierer" "k3boggvorbisdecoder"
Loaded plugin "Ogg-Vorbis-Dekodierer"
"Musepack-Dekodierer" "k3bmpcdecoder"
Loaded plugin "Musepack-Dekodierer"
"Ogg-Vorbis-Kodierer" "k3boggvorbisencoder"
Loaded plugin "Ogg-Vorbis-Kodierer"
"MAD-Dekodierer" "k3bmaddecoder"
Loaded plugin "MAD-Dekodierer"
"Lame-MP3-Kodierer" "k3blameencoder"
Loaded plugin "Lame-MP3-Kodierer"
"Audio-Metadaten-Umbenennungs-Modul" "k3baudiometainforenamerplugin"
Loaded plugin "Audio-Metadaten-Umbenennungs-Modul"
"Wave-Dekodierer" "k3bwavedecoder"
Loaded plugin "Wave-Dekodierer"
"FFMpeg-Dekodierer" "k3bffmpegdecoder"
Loaded plugin "FFMpeg-Dekodierer"
"FLAC-Dekodierer" "k3bflacdecoder"
Loaded plugin "FLAC-Dekodierer"
K3bQProcess::QProcess(0x0)
K3bQProcess::QProcess(0x0)

moldmaker
Young Hen
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 18:54

Re: Language setting in K3b

Post by moldmaker » Mon Sep 04, 2017 19:09

Thank you for your quick reply. When I do it, K3B fires up (GUI in english) and I get the following output:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ k3b --lang de_DE
KGlobal::locale(): Warning your global KLocale is being recreated with a valid main component instead of a fake component, this usually means you tried to call i18n related functions before your main component was created. You should not do that since it most likely will not work
[email protected] ~ $ K3bQProcess::QProcess(0x0)
K3bQProcess::QProcess(0x0)
k3b(3373)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "view_projects" with KXMLGUIFactory! 
k3b(3373)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "view_dir_tree" with KXMLGUIFactory! 
k3b(3373)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "view_contents" with KXMLGUIFactory! 
k3b(3373)/kdeui (kdelibs): Attempt to use QAction "location_bar" with KXMLGUIFactory! 
[email protected] ~ $ 
When further investigating this, I found the command for language switching in K3B in the Help menu (not Settings menu), but it only let me choose American English. So I searched a little on the internet and found a Debian package "k3b-i18n_2.0.3a-2_all.deb". Version number is correct (2.0.3), so I downloaded the file, unpacked it and copied the contents manually to the path it pointed to. Now it is possible to change the language (in the Help menu). With the next program launch K3B is now in german language.
So the issue is solved.
Maybe it would be great to have this package in the Sabayon repos?

Mm.

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3157
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Language setting in K3b

Post by sabayonino » Mon Sep 04, 2017 20:52

Hi you're running old k3b version

K3B was ported to KDE frameworks

Code: Select all

$ equo s k3b
╠  @@ Cercando...
╠      @@ Pacchetto: kde-apps/k3b-17.08.0 branch: 5, [sabayonlinux.org] 
╠          Disponibile:   versione: 17.08.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 0
╠          Installato:    versione: 17.08.0 ~ tag: NoTag ~ revisione: 0
╠          Slot:          5
╠          Homepage:      http://www.k3b.org/ 
╠          Descrizione:   Full-featured burning and ripping 
╠                         application based on KDE Frameworks 
╠          Licenza:       FDL-1.2 GPL-2
╠   Keyword:  k3b
╠   Trovati:  1 voce
remove old (and old kde-l10n) and install newer

Code: Select all

# equo rm k3b --ask && equo i k3b && equo upgrade --purge --ask
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

moldmaker
Young Hen
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 18:54

Re: Language setting in K3b

Post by moldmaker » Tue Sep 05, 2017 18:06

Thank you, great help!

Mm.

Post Reply