Suspend generates error message

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Suspend generates error message

Postby shadowlab » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:36

I recently installed Sabayon 13.08 MATE64. Within power management I configured it to Suspend when the laptop lid is closed. Upon closing it, an error is generated:

Failed to suspend

Computer failed to suspend.

Failure was reported as: Cannot suspend

I did some searches and mostly came across old posts that were fixed in subsequent updates. I tried re-installing mate-power-manager-1.6.2, but the problem continues. Anyone else having this problem?

Thanks, Kevin.
Laptop: Sony SVE14A290X
Specs: 8GB RAM and 250GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD
OS: dual-boot Sabayon 13.08 MATE64 and Windows 8
shadowlab
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:13

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby shadowlab » Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:05

Quick follow-up...

Since I had my USB live version handy, I popped it in and ran some tests. It also has issues, but it doesn't generate an error message. When I close the lid, it does absolutey nothing even though power management is set to Suspend.

However, I can manually start Suspend mode from: System > Shut Down and then click the Suspend button in the popup.

I then removed the USB and went back to my installed version and noticed that Suspend button is not even an option within the ShutDown popup.

Thanks, Kevin.
Laptop: Sony SVE14A290X
Specs: 8GB RAM and 250GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD
OS: dual-boot Sabayon 13.08 MATE64 and Windows 8
shadowlab
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 1:13

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby heathen » Sat Sep 07, 2013 22:01

I'm having the same problem but after recent updates, not new install. I seem to have random problems with power management after about every other update. It may fix itself in a week or two after weekly updates.... :p
just wandering around and poking stuff with sticks...
heathen
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 19:44
Location: Arizona

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby Lemuriano » Sun Sep 08, 2013 13:04

I'm using Sabayon Xfce fully updated and using the power manager I can not suspend or hibernate. The option to hibernate or suspend is gone when I exit the system.

The message received is;
Method is deprecated, please port to org.freedesktop.login1.Manager.Hibernated


Only can hibernate with pm-hibernate from the command line.

This behavior is current on my 3 Sabayon xfce systems.

Can someone point me in the right direction so I can solve this issue?

Thanks
Sabayon x64 Xfce main
Intel core i5 M-520
linux-sabayon 3.15.0
User avatar
Lemuriano
Young Hen
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:22
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby svantoviit » Sun Sep 08, 2013 20:45

Lemuriano wrote:Only can hibernate with pm-hibernate from the command line.

Same here… XFCE too.
svantoviit
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 17:55

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby heathen » Sun Sep 15, 2013 14:45

just wandering around and poking stuff with sticks...
heathen
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 19:44
Location: Arizona

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby Zaibon » Wed Sep 18, 2013 18:40

I have the same problem using Sabayon Linux amd64 13.10 and mate 1.6

The problem happened after an update this monday.

I can't supend or hibernate when closing lid but pm-suspend, pm-hibernate works fine.

The option suspend and hibernate are also gone from the shutdown dialog

Code: Select all
uname -a
Linux zbi 3.9.0-sabayon #1 SMP Fri Jul 26 10:59:10 UTC 2013 x86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3317U CPU @ 1.70GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
Zaibon
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 16:49

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby heathen » Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:21

Still getting "Failure to Suspend".
just wandering around and poking stuff with sticks...
heathen
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2013 19:44
Location: Arizona

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby FuzzyLizard530 » Thu Oct 17, 2013 2:41

i've been having this prob myself as well [Sabayon 13 XFCE]. if I knew what I was doing, I'd love to fix this, but I'm still a bit of a Sabayon/Gentoo/Linux noob as it is, and I don't want to have to reinstall if I flub iit up! lol! it's only a minor inconvenience for me, but I'd love to have my stand-by options again... :(

It does make me wonder if anyone who knows what they're doing has even read this thread...

Edit:
This does seem to be a kernel issue, as I've stumbled on some Gentoo users having the same issue....
FuzzyLizard530
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 12:32

Re: Suspend generates error message

Postby BonnieBrilane » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:00

Well i have also faced this problem....its disgusting.
BonnieBrilane
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:37

Next

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests