Skype connect only if root

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:17

Seems like you're not the only one with this problem: Skype fails to login.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7998
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby ezioze » Mon Jul 15, 2013 13:31

I reinstall skype but it doesn't works
I saw your question on the other thread. I'm using OpenRC.
ezioze
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 10:05

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Jul 15, 2013 14:17

Very strange. Especially since Skype is working fine for me in Gentoo and in SL (Xfce) fully updated. If it works for you as root user but not under your own user account then it smacks to me of a permissions problem or a configuration/rule file problem, but the permissions and ownership of the files that you posted earlier look OK to me. I doubt it will have any impact on your problem, but try disabling IPv6 system-wide by editing /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.conf and uncommenting the line "alias net-pf-10 off" then rebooting.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7998
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Mon Jul 15, 2013 14:38

If that does not work either, do you have the directory /root/.Skype/ (i.e. the directory containing the root user's Skype files)? If you do, you could copy the Skype files from the user account in which Skype works (root) to your user account (ezio) to see if that has an effect:

Code: Select all
$ su
Password:
# mv /home/ezio/.Skype/ /home/ezio/.Skype.bak/
# cp -pr /root/.Skype/ /home/ezio/.Skype/
# chown -R ezio:ezio /home/ezio/.Skype/
# exit
exit
$ skype
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7998
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby ezioze » Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:38

i tried what you suggested bu no results.
I also tried to switch to kernel 3.10-r2 no result
only a news: if i choose Options and then Vocal messages or Audio devices or Video devices Skype freeze
ezioze
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 10:05

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby aquarius » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:22

Fitzcarraldo wrote:try disabling IPv6 system-wide by editing /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.conf and uncommenting the line "alias net-pf-10 off" then rebooting.

This did not helped in my case also.
Gnome2 is dead! Long live... E17!

System76 Gazelle Professional:
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M
16GB DDR3 SDRAM
750GB HDD + 120GB SSD
15.6" Full HD LED-Backlit Matte Display

powered by Sabayon amd64 E17
aquarius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 22:17
Location: L'viv, Ukraine

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby aquarius » Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:39

OK, we have the solution. Many thanks to user mc_crafty!

The solution is:
1) add line load-module module-equalizer-sink to the end of /etc/pulse/default.pa
2) reboot (probably restarting PulseAudio will also work)
3) set enviroment varieble PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 and launch skype

Fitzcarraldo, as I understand this is a workaround for SL bug. Right?
If yes, I can file it into bugtracker.
Gnome2 is dead! Long live... E17!

System76 Gazelle Professional:
Intel Core i7-2670QM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 560M
16GB DDR3 SDRAM
750GB HDD + 120GB SSD
15.6" Full HD LED-Backlit Matte Display

powered by Sabayon amd64 E17
aquarius
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 22:17
Location: L'viv, Ukraine

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:50

............................................________
....................................,.-‘”...................``~.,
.............................,.-”...................................“-.,
.........................,/...............................................”:,
.....................,?..................................... .................\,
.................../..........................................................., }
................./......................................................,:`^`. .}
.............../...................................................,:”...... .../
..............?.....__...................................... ...:`.........../
............./__.(.....“~-,_..............................,:`........../
.........../(_....”~,_........“~,_....................,:`........_/
..........{.._$;_......”=,_.......“-,_.......,.-~-,},.~”;/....}
...........((.....*~_.......”=-._......“;,,./`..../”............../
...,,,___.\`~,......“~.,....................`.....}......... ...../
............(....`=-,,.......`........................(......;_,,-”
............/.`~,......`-...............................\....../\
.............\`~.*-,.....................................|,./.....\,__
,,_..........}.>-._\...................................|..............`=~-,
.....`=~-,_\_......`\,.................................\
...................`=~-,,.\,...............................\
................................`:,,........................ ...`\..............__
.....................................`=-,...................,%`>--==``
........................................_\..........._,-%.......`\
...................................,<`.._|_,-&``................`\

PulseAudio again! :roll:

It's not a SL bug, aquarius, it's an upstream bug in PulseAudio 4 or Skype. I've read about this problem with PulseAudio before (see e.g. No sound using skype -- (almost) RESOLVED), but never come across it stopping Skype from logging-in, 'just' muting audio or making audio sound scratchy.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7998
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Skype connect only if root

Postby ezioze » Fri Jul 26, 2013 9:26

I tried PULSE_LATENCY_MSEC=30 but it doesn't work.
My solution:
modify (or create)
~/.pulse/client.conf
adding:
autospawn=0
save.
This will prevent skype to use pulseaudio and force use of ALSA.
ezioze
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 10:05

Previous

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest