Alsa don't store volume preferences

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Mon Jun 24, 2013 21:48

Hi!
As i've writed in the title i cant keep my volume prefernces. Every time i reboot alsamixer give me all channels of my Asus Xonar DX muted. I've already tried to give as root
Code: Select all
alsactl store

but i can't get result. I have installed Sabayon KDE with systemd.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby gabvil » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:17

Hi Provia,

Did you tried the same with your personal user and not with root?

Code: Select all
/usr/sbin/alsactl store


Maybe with fullpath?

With OpenRC and not Systemd, behaviour remains the same?

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:12

I've tried but it give's me this outpud
Code: Select all
 state_lock:121: file /var/lib/alsa/asound.state lock error: File exists
/usr/sbin/alsactl: state_lock:121: file /var/lib/alsa/asound.state unlock error: File exists

I've also tried to remove asound.state but this not solve the problem.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Sun Jul 07, 2013 13:23

Any help? This is really annoying :(
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby gabvil » Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:29

Hi Provia,

I've been looking for this kind of behaviour and indicates in some sites that could be a bug.

If you want could you check this forum in order to try some of this solutions?

http://foros.archlinux-es.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7201

Is in spanish but you could translate it.

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby chris2kari » Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:20

Provia wrote:Hi!
As i've writed in the title i cant keep my volume prefernces. Every time i reboot alsamixer give me all channels of my Asus Xonar DX muted. I've already tried to give as root
Code: Select all
alsactl store

but i can't get result. I have installed Sabayon KDE with systemd.

I have this on Sabayon KDE 13.04 & 13.07 daily with Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset & 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset.
This errata has been reported across many distro's since at least 2004.
I have logged a Sabayon bug #4308.
8 years and still waiting..

Chris
chris2kari
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 15:00

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby linuxfluesterer » Sun Jul 14, 2013 14:27

Hallo Prova.
I experience the same problems like you.
This is my sound data:
Code: Select all
SSD4-K310-KDE4104 ~ lsmod |grep snd
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     23337  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek    27648  1
snd_hda_intel          26104  2
snd_hda_codec         102154  3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4670  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                60991  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc          6134  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              14598  1 snd_pcm
snd                    47094  11 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel

I run KDE 4.10.4 with Kernel 3.10 now.
When booting and login my volume is muted. So I open KMixer and set volumes. Now I can hear the build-in speakers in events or in movie. Then I finish my work and shutdown my laptop (an Acer V3-571G).
When I boot then my laptop later, e.g. hours later or next day, then the sound is muted again. This is replicable.
And here some curious: When I connect an external headset to my standard audio while muted, then suddenly the muted sound changes to 'unmute' and I can hear sound in headphones then. I don't touch the settings when plugging in.
And 2nd: when I disconnect the headset then the volume is still 'unmuted', exactly, I can hear the sound from the build-in speakers then.
I hope, this is a hint for the experts here.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 749
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:47

tl;dr. Are you guys using systemd? If you are, you probably need to have a systemd service configured and started automatically. See alsa-store.service and alsa-restore.socket in the article https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd .
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 8032
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:43

Fitzcarraldo wrote:tl;dr. Are you guys using systemd? If you are, you probably need to have a systemd service configured and started automatically. See alsa-store.service and alsa-restore.socket in the article https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd .


Yes i'm using systemd. I will give a look at gentoo again wiki when i'm home. But i think i've already checked alsa-store.service. Anyway i agree with you that probably this is a service startup problem.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Tue Jul 23, 2013 17:39

Fitzcarraldo, the services that you have mentioned are enabled by default so they don't need any "systemctl enable"...so still don't know where the problem is. Now i try with a new kernel but i don't think this will solve the problem.....
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Next

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron