Alsa don't store volume preferences

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Mon Jun 24, 2013 21:48

Hi!
As i've writed in the title i cant keep my volume prefernces. Every time i reboot alsamixer give me all channels of my Asus Xonar DX muted. I've already tried to give as root
Code: Select all
alsactl store

but i can't get result. I have installed Sabayon KDE with systemd.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby gabvil » Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:17

Hi Provia,

Did you tried the same with your personal user and not with root?

Code: Select all
/usr/sbin/alsactl store


Maybe with fullpath?

With OpenRC and not Systemd, behaviour remains the same?

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:12

I've tried but it give's me this outpud
Code: Select all
 state_lock:121: file /var/lib/alsa/asound.state lock error: File exists
/usr/sbin/alsactl: state_lock:121: file /var/lib/alsa/asound.state unlock error: File exists

I've also tried to remove asound.state but this not solve the problem.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Sun Jul 07, 2013 13:23

Any help? This is really annoying :(
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby gabvil » Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:29

Hi Provia,

I've been looking for this kind of behaviour and indicates in some sites that could be a bug.

If you want could you check this forum in order to try some of this solutions?

http://foros.archlinux-es.org/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7201

Is in spanish but you could translate it.

Regards,
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/160Gb/82945GZ/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @work X2
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/250Gb/x3100 GM965/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @lappy
·Intel [email protected]/2Gb Ram/800 Gb/Zotac 8400GS-512Mb-HDMI/Sabayon Mate 13.07 x64 @HTPC
gabvil
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 22:27
Location: Canelones, Uruguay

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby chris2kari » Sun Jul 14, 2013 3:20

Provia wrote:Hi!
As i've writed in the title i cant keep my volume prefernces. Every time i reboot alsamixer give me all channels of my Asus Xonar DX muted. I've already tried to give as root
Code: Select all
alsactl store

but i can't get result. I have installed Sabayon KDE with systemd.

I have this on Sabayon KDE 13.04 & 13.07 daily with Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Chipset & 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset.
This errata has been reported across many distro's since at least 2004.
I have logged a Sabayon bug #4308.
8 years and still waiting..

Chris
chris2kari
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 15:00

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby linuxfluesterer » Sun Jul 14, 2013 14:27

Hallo Prova.
I experience the same problems like you.
This is my sound data:
Code: Select all
SSD4-K310-KDE4104 ~ lsmod |grep snd
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     23337  1
snd_hda_codec_realtek    27648  1
snd_hda_intel          26104  2
snd_hda_codec         102154  3 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4670  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                60991  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel
snd_page_alloc          6134  2 snd_pcm,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              14598  1 snd_pcm
snd                    47094  11 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_pcm,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel

I run KDE 4.10.4 with Kernel 3.10 now.
When booting and login my volume is muted. So I open KMixer and set volumes. Now I can hear the build-in speakers in events or in movie. Then I finish my work and shutdown my laptop (an Acer V3-571G).
When I boot then my laptop later, e.g. hours later or next day, then the sound is muted again. This is replicable.
And here some curious: When I connect an external headset to my standard audio while muted, then suddenly the muted sound changes to 'unmute' and I can hear sound in headphones then. I don't touch the settings when plugging in.
And 2nd: when I disconnect the headset then the volume is still 'unmuted', exactly, I can hear the sound from the build-in speakers then.
I hope, this is a hint for the experts here.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
I really hope, that by the Brexit (poor Britain), TTIP will be finally prevented. But don't get tired to talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 725
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Wed Jul 17, 2013 12:47

tl;dr. Are you guys using systemd? If you are, you probably need to have a systemd service configured and started automatically. See alsa-store.service and alsa-restore.socket in the article https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd .
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7998
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:43

Fitzcarraldo wrote:tl;dr. Are you guys using systemd? If you are, you probably need to have a systemd service configured and started automatically. See alsa-store.service and alsa-restore.socket in the article https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd .


Yes i'm using systemd. I will give a look at gentoo again wiki when i'm home. But i think i've already checked alsa-store.service. Anyway i agree with you that probably this is a service startup problem.
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Re: Alsa don't store volume preferences

Postby Provia » Tue Jul 23, 2013 17:39

Fitzcarraldo, the services that you have mentioned are enabled by default so they don't need any "systemctl enable"...so still don't know where the problem is. Now i try with a new kernel but i don't think this will solve the problem.....
AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
4 GB DDR3 1600 Mhz
Nvidia Geforce 9800 GT
Sabayon Linux x64 KDE Limbo
Provia
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 23:15
Location: Italy

Next

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron