What's secret to getting GPM running on consoles?[Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

What's secret to getting GPM running on consoles?[Solved]

Postby joe3 » Thu Jun 13, 2013 22:29

I've got a newly installed copy of Sabayon_Linux_13.04_amd64_Xfce.iso. And I can start a
volatile GPM session with:

Code: Select all
# gpm -m /dev/input/mice -t ps2


It works like a charm, but it's a PITA to always have to type it into a "root" command shell.

So I checked that /dev/input/mice & ps2 were uncommented in /etc/conf.d/gpm
and used
Code: Select all
rc-update add gpm default

But after rebooting GPM didn't start...

I booted my laptop which has an existing/running old Sabayon installation and used
Code: Select all
rc-update show
there to find that on the laptop I'd used the boot runlevel instead
of default... Since it worked there, I tried that with the new 13.04 installation on my desktop.
But whether I use default, boot or even both, GPM isn't starting...

So I tried
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/gpm start


But it just says:
Code: Select all
 * WARNING: gpm is already starting


But it hadn't and doesn't...

I then used
Code: Select all
rc-update delete gpm boot
to remove gpm from the automated service
list. {also removed it from default} And tried again but:
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/gpm start

Still only gets.
Code: Select all
 * WARNING: gpm is already starting


And any attempt to stop the alleged already started gpm with:
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/gpm stop
Only yields:
Code: Select all
 * ERROR: gpm stopped by something else
...

What am I missing here???

--
Joe3
Last edited by joe3 on Sun Jun 16, 2013 19:02, edited 1 time in total.
joe3
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 21:28

Re: What's the secret to getting GPM running on the consoles

Postby joe3 » Sun Jun 16, 2013 19:00

Well while I was waiting for an answer here, I tried a few things that didn't work before taking this issue to the LinuxQuestions forum where somebody told me that systemD used systemctl to start and stop services.

But there wasn't any gpm.service on my system and my attempt to use existing service files as a template and roll my own failed. So again the LinuxQuestions forum came through with an example gpm.service file...

That example file took very little modification to work on my Sabayon system...

For more details see:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/sabayon-86/new-sabayon-13-04-install-can%27t-get-gpm-to-start-as-a-service-%7Bsystemd%7D-4175466154/

--
joe3
joe3
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 21:28


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron