Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
digit01
Young Hen
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 15:28

Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Post by digit01 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:25

First of all with steam. I get an error everytime I try

Code: Select all

Running Steam on sabayon  64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is disabled by the user
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
unlinked 0 orphaned pipes
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
[0608/001135:WARNING:proxy_service.cc(646)] PAC support disabled because there is no system implementation
/home/buildbot/buildslave_steam/steam_rel_client_ubuntu12_linux/build/src/steamUI/../common/steam/client_api.cpp (281) : Assertion Failed: ClientAPI_InitGlobalInstance: InternalAPI_Init_Internal failed.

Assert( Assertion Failed: ClientAPI_InitGlobalInstance: InternalAPI_Init_Internal failed.
 ):/home/buildbot/buildslave_steam/steam_rel_client_ubuntu12_linux/build/src/steamUI/../common/steam/client_api.cpp:281

Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
Uploading dump (out-of-process) [proxy '']
/tmp/dumps/assert_20130608001135_1.dmp
/home/buildbot/buildslave_steam/steam_rel_client_ubuntu12_linux/build/src/steamUI/SteamStartup.cpp (627) : Assertion Failed: ! "There was a problem with your Steam installation.\n" "Please reinstall steam.\n"
unlinked 2 orphaned pipes
Finished uploading minidump (out-of-process): success = no
error: HTTP response code said error
CAsyncIOManager: 0 threads terminating.  0 reads, 0 writes, 0 deferrals.
CAsyncIOManager: 135 single object sleeps, 0 multi object sleeps
CAsyncIOManager: 0 single object alertable sleeps, 1 multi object alertable sleeps
[2013-06-08 00:11:34] Startup - updater built May  3 2013 15:08:27
[2013-06-08 00:11:34] Verifying installation...
[2013-06-08 00:11:34] Verification complete
Shutting down. . .
[2013-06-08 00:11:35] Shutdown

Can someone please guide me in the right direction? Thanks.
Last edited by digit01 on Sat Jun 08, 2013 13:01, edited 1 time in total.

B3rtm3n
Growing Hen
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:53

Re: Updated steam and I have issues

Post by B3rtm3n » Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:53

I got same error

Gentoo forums had the sollution. You have to open terminal and do:

Code: Select all

STEAM_RUNTIME=1 steam
You have to open each time terminal and do this in order to run Steam, do not know other solution

maybe next update will fix this issue

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3182
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Updated steam and I have issues

Post by sabayonino » Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:51

B3rtm3n wrote:
You have to open each time terminal and do this in order to run Steam, do not know other solution

maybe next update will fix this issue
or

Code: Select all

$ export  STEAM_RUNTIME="1 steam"
or

Code: Select all

$ echo "STEAM_RUNTIME='1 steam' " >> ~/.bashrc
Last edited by sabayonino on Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:32, edited 1 time in total.
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

digit01
Young Hen
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 15:28

Re: Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Post by digit01 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 13:02

Thank you! That fixed it. And I feel n00bish again for not checking the flipping Gentoo forums. Thanks again for the help.

alexrenzi
Young Hen
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:29

Re: Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Post by alexrenzi » Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:55

For me that string doesn't work, i had to change it in this way:
STEAM_RUNTIME='1'

chris2kari
Baby Hen
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 15:00

Re: Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Post by chris2kari » Thu Jul 11, 2013 13:40

alexrenzi wrote:For me that string doesn't work, i had to change it in this way:
STEAM_RUNTIME='1'
For those who are not Linux gods & just want the freakin thing to work, the actual correct console string is :

Code: Select all

export STEAM_RUNTIME="1"
In my KDE the Icon does not launch it so I edited the command to:
export STEAM_RUNTIME="1" && steam

Now it works with a click!

Post Reply