Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Postby digit01 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 5:25

First of all with steam. I get an error everytime I try

Code: Select all
Running Steam on sabayon  64-bit
STEAM_RUNTIME is disabled by the user
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
unlinked 0 orphaned pipes
Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
[0608/001135:WARNING:proxy_service.cc(646)] PAC support disabled because there is no system implementation
/home/buildbot/buildslave_steam/steam_rel_client_ubuntu12_linux/build/src/steamUI/../common/steam/client_api.cpp (281) : Assertion Failed: ClientAPI_InitGlobalInstance: InternalAPI_Init_Internal failed.

Assert( Assertion Failed: ClientAPI_InitGlobalInstance: InternalAPI_Init_Internal failed.
 ):/home/buildbot/buildslave_steam/steam_rel_client_ubuntu12_linux/build/src/steamUI/../common/steam/client_api.cpp:281

Installing breakpad exception handler for appid(steam)/version(1367621987_client)
Uploading dump (out-of-process) [proxy '']
/tmp/dumps/assert_20130608001135_1.dmp
/home/buildbot/buildslave_steam/steam_rel_client_ubuntu12_linux/build/src/steamUI/SteamStartup.cpp (627) : Assertion Failed: ! "There was a problem with your Steam installation.\n" "Please reinstall steam.\n"
unlinked 2 orphaned pipes
Finished uploading minidump (out-of-process): success = no
error: HTTP response code said error
CAsyncIOManager: 0 threads terminating.  0 reads, 0 writes, 0 deferrals.
CAsyncIOManager: 135 single object sleeps, 0 multi object sleeps
CAsyncIOManager: 0 single object alertable sleeps, 1 multi object alertable sleeps
[2013-06-08 00:11:34] Startup - updater built May  3 2013 15:08:27
[2013-06-08 00:11:34] Verifying installation...
[2013-06-08 00:11:34] Verification complete
Shutting down. . .
[2013-06-08 00:11:35] Shutdown



Can someone please guide me in the right direction? Thanks.
Last edited by digit01 on Sat Jun 08, 2013 13:01, edited 1 time in total.
digit01
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 15:28

Re: Updated steam and I have issues

Postby B3rtm3n » Sat Jun 08, 2013 9:53

I got same error

Gentoo forums had the sollution. You have to open terminal and do:

Code: Select all
STEAM_RUNTIME=1 steam


You have to open each time terminal and do this in order to run Steam, do not know other solution

maybe next update will fix this issue
B3rtm3n
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:53

Re: Updated steam and I have issues

Postby sabayonino » Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:51

B3rtm3n wrote:
You have to open each time terminal and do this in order to run Steam, do not know other solution

maybe next update will fix this issue


or

Code: Select all
$ export  STEAM_RUNTIME="1 steam"


or

Code: Select all
$ echo "STEAM_RUNTIME='1 steam' " >> ~/.bashrc
Last edited by sabayonino on Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:32, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Postby digit01 » Sat Jun 08, 2013 13:02

Thank you! That fixed it. And I feel n00bish again for not checking the flipping Gentoo forums. Thanks again for the help.
digit01
Young Hen
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 15:28

Re: Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Postby alexrenzi » Tue Jul 09, 2013 9:55

For me that string doesn't work, i had to change it in this way:
STEAM_RUNTIME='1'
alexrenzi
Young Hen
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:29

Re: Updated steam and I have issues [Solved]

Postby chris2kari » Thu Jul 11, 2013 13:40

alexrenzi wrote:For me that string doesn't work, i had to change it in this way:
STEAM_RUNTIME='1'


For those who are not Linux gods & just want the freakin thing to work, the actual correct console string is :
Code: Select all
export STEAM_RUNTIME="1"


In my KDE the Icon does not launch it so I edited the command to:
export STEAM_RUNTIME="1" && steam

Now it works with a click!
chris2kari
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 15:00


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests