How can i remove Pulseaudio

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby ZeroPointEnergy » Sat May 04, 2013 15:56

Hi

I moved to Sabayon from Gentoo some time ago now, because my box is getting to old to compile all the stuff by itself but i don't have the money to replace it right now. On Gentoo i had some trouble with pulseaudio too, but there i could simply chose the "-pulseaudio" flag in make.conf and it was gone.

So now that i use sabayon that thing is back and fucks up my sound regularly. Is there a way to easy remove that thing and run with alsa only?
ZeroPointEnergy
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 17:41

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat May 04, 2013 16:56

Code: Select all
mv /usr/bin/pulseaudio /usr/bin/pulsestop

That used to disable PulseAudio and leave ALSA to do its stuff. Give it a try to see if it still works.
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby lxnay » Sat May 04, 2013 18:46

You want PulseAudio. If you don't, you can just go back to Gentoo.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+
lxnay
Land Owner
 
Posts: 3595
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby ZeroPointEnergy » Sat May 04, 2013 19:58

Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Code: Select all
mv /usr/bin/pulseaudio /usr/bin/pulsestop

That used to disable PulseAudio and leave ALSA to do its stuff. Give it a try to see if it still works.

Hmm ok, thats a bit crude. Is there no way over a config file?
ZeroPointEnergy
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 17:41

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby ZeroPointEnergy » Sat May 04, 2013 20:00

lxnay wrote:You want PulseAudio. If you don't, you can just go back to Gentoo.

That was really helpful, ty...
ZeroPointEnergy
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 17:41

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby Fitzcarraldo » Sat May 04, 2013 22:45

ZeroPointEnergy wrote:
Fitzcarraldo wrote:
Code: Select all
mv /usr/bin/pulseaudio /usr/bin/pulsestop

That used to disable PulseAudio and leave ALSA to do its stuff. Give it a try to see if it still works.

Hmm ok, thats a bit crude. Is there no way over a config file?

This, perhaps?
User avatar
Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby ZeroPointEnergy » Sun May 05, 2013 18:56

That did not work for me, looks like that thing is pretty stubborn. Maybe i should really just wait for the new box and switch back to Gentoo then. Don't want to sink more time into this. One should think after all this years that sound stuff should just work out of the box, at least it used to. Thx for the help anyway.
ZeroPointEnergy
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 17:41

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby colock » Mon May 06, 2013 9:05

It sure works. but you have to kill pulseaudio after configuring not to spawn. then it will not spawn anymore.

(in client.conf i also added:
Code: Select all
daemon-binary = /dev/null

just for the fun.)
colock
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 12:01

Re: How can i remove Pulseaudio

Postby asy1410 » Tue May 14, 2013 18:57

thk you very much,
I had the problem after update and Restart that the Speakers had no sound and if I pluged in headphone it was ok, after unplugging the headphone the Speakers were Zero. for me my problem is solved with

"mv /usr/bin/pulseaudio /usr/bin/pulsestop"

and everything is working perfect. 8)
asy1410
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 21:28


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest