shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down [Solved]

Postby Richlion » Thu Apr 04, 2013 15:28

Hello,
I recenlty tried using this command (I assume I used it correctly based on some hints on the WWW):
(in the console)
shutdown 23:00

According to the manuals on WWW this should start a shutdown of my workstation. It did send me a messase "system will go to maintenance mode in .... minutes". The problem is my SL did not shutdown completely, my laptop was showing bits of artwork and a blinking cursor in the left upper corner. No login prompt, nothing, I had to press the power button. Is this how it should work?

Thanks
Richlion
*** Sabyon user since 2006 ***
Sabayon Linux amd64 13.03 - x86_64 Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00GHz
KDE 4.10.1 - on Acer Aspire 7730 zg 17" with Nvidia Geforce 9300M GS
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester

Re: shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down

Postby sabayonino » Thu Apr 04, 2013 18:17

shutdown -h HH:MM

see

shutdown --help
User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy

Re: shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Thu Apr 04, 2013 20:05

Richlion wrote:I had to press the power button. Is this how it should work?

Next time, try the Magic-SysRq first:
hold Alt+SysRq and type R, E, I, S, U, B one by one.
("Raising Elephants Is So Utterly Boring")
Code: Select all
R    unraw     Decouple keyboard access from GUI
E    term      Send SIGTERM to all processes except Init
I    kill      Send SIGKILL to all processes except Init
S    sync      Write all data on harddrive, which are yet in the kernel-hdd-cache
U    umount    Unmount all mounted partitions and remount them read-only
B    reboot    Turn down the computer immdiately without writing data from kernel-hdd-cache on harddrive or unmounting partitions. After that, reboot the machine


More healthy to your box ;-)
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down

Postby linuxfluesterer » Thu Apr 04, 2013 21:08

Ok, the console command is simple, but if you want to have a gui,
you can create a program in 'Editing Menueentries'.
The command is:
Code: Select all
kcmshell4 kcm_cron

executed as user root.
Here then I add a new command, as system cron, executed as user root (again)
Code: Select all
/sbin/shutdown -h now

and enter the time and date in that gui surface.
First time, it's a little complicated and some work.
But now, I have an icon, and it is really working, when I call it.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
TTIP is NOT YET stopped. Especially consider NHS and ISDS topics. Talk to your local politician to open eyes for danger to democracy because of TTIP
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 699
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down

Postby Ryuno-Ki » Fri Apr 05, 2013 0:12

Hm, I have to run
Code: Select all
# shutdown -hP now

in order to turn off my machine. P = Poweroff.
HP-Pavilion ◆ AMD Athlon™ 64 Processor 4000+ ◆ GeForce 6150SE nForce 430 ◆ 1 GiB RAM
German Wiki translator ◆ Want to contribute on the wiki? Ask the Bureaucrats!
Please, mark solved threads ◆ Posts unread and unansweredPackage requests ◆ Sabayon XI with MATE
Ryuno-Ki
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 22:15
Location: Southern Germany

Re: shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down

Postby Matte88 » Fri Apr 05, 2013 0:39

Ryuno-Ki wrote:Next time, try the Magic-SysRq first:
Thanks Ryuno! :alien:
Learning is a never ending process.
Image
When I became the sun,
I shone life into the man's hearts.
Matte88
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 14:37
Location: @/etc/entropy/repositories.conf.d/entropy_sabayon-limbo

Re: shutdown HH:MM doesn't shut down

Postby Richlion » Fri Apr 05, 2013 11:37

Hello,
to all of you, a big thank you. It seems Google doesn't always know the right answer.
Richlion
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:19
Location: Manchester


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests