Screen resolution and refresh rate

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
num_lock_er
Baby Hen
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:26

Screen resolution and refresh rate

Post by num_lock_er » Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:31

Hi, if I changed my resolution to 1024x768, my screen suddenly shrinks (like a wide screen) and I can't view the whole desktop.

How do I change (force) my refresh rate to 85hz. The maximum refresh rate for 1024x768 is only 63Hz. I know my monitor/vc is capable of 85Hz.

I'm using SL 3.2 mini, Nvidia g4ti 4200 128mb and a crt monitor.

By the way, I like aigxl :) Nice distro.

Thanks.

Numlock
Last edited by num_lock_er on Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:01, edited 1 time in total.

wolfden
Sharecropper
Posts: 9051
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA
Contact:

Post by wolfden » Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:01

is this on an install or running from livecd?

if it is a livecd, did you try any boot parameters?

noddc res=1024x768 refresh=60 opengl=nvidia

replace the numbers as you wish

num_lock_er
Baby Hen
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:26

Post by num_lock_er » Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:03

It's a full install. I'm using AIGXL. If I'm using 1280 x 1020. The whole desktop and screen is visible to my monitor. But any res lower than that, the screen suddenly shrinks. Ang I can only view the upper part of my desktop. And my eyes hurt because of the lower refresh rate 60Hz. How do I change it to 85Hz. It's weird.

Thanks,
Numlock
Last edited by num_lock_er on Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:24, edited 1 time in total.

Goatee
Sharecropper
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK

Post by Goatee » Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:11

Go into Grub and tack your new res on the end of your boot parameters

num_lock_er
Baby Hen
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:26

Post by num_lock_er » Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:19

If my res is 1280x1024, I can see my whole desktop. If I change it to 1024x76, the screen shrinks, blank black space at top and bottom perimeter and I can only see the upper part of my desktop. Any solution? Also, I want to get a 85Hz refresh rate, 63MHz is killing me. Here is my xorg.conf contents. I've a nvidia geforce4ti 4200 128mb and a 15" mag 750v cr monitor. Thanks.

Monitor section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of monitor sections may be present

Section "Monitor"

Identifier "Generic Monitor"
#Option "DPMS"

VertRefresh 43 - 60
HorizSync 28 - 80

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************

# Any number of graphics device sections may be present

Section "Device"
Identifier "VESA"
Driver "nvidia" # do not remove vesa
#Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
#Option "BusType" "PCI"
#Option "ColorTiling" "on"
#Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
EndSection


# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections.
# **********************************************************************

Section "Screen"

# The Identifier, Device and Monitor lines must be present

Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "VESA"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
#Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"

# The favoured Depth and/or Bpp may be specified here

DefaultDepth 24

SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection

SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
ViewPort 0 0
#Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubsection


EndSection

num_lock_er
Baby Hen
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 7:26

SOLVED resolution and refresh rate

Post by num_lock_er » Wed Dec 20, 2006 18:14

I simply added sabayon aigxl opengl=nvidia res=1024x768 refresh=85 at boot.

Now, i'm finding how to automount my ntfs partition in a GUI, not command line.

Norbert
Young Hen
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2006 13:54
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by Norbert » Wed Dec 20, 2006 20:33

2"numlock": please also find how to mount ntfs partitions in RW mode. :-)
It is very usefull.

Post Reply