Not enough space error

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Not enough space error

Postby maxlaw » Wed Mar 07, 2012 0:41

I just finished installing sabayon 8 64 bit and when I try install a game on wine it keeps saying there is not enough room to install it (150g free) I have no idea how to fix this I tried installing it in different locations but that did not work.
maxlaw
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 0:32

Re: Not enough space error

Postby mélodie » Wed Mar 07, 2012 0:56

Hi,
What game is it ?

Can you paste here the output of the command :
Code: Select all
$ df -h


?
mélodie
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:41

Re: Not enough space error

Postby maxlaw » Wed Mar 07, 2012 9:31

Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs 50G 8.8G 39G 19% /
udev 10M 0 10M 0% /dev
/dev/mapper/vg_sabayon-lv_root 50G 8.8G 39G 19% /
tmpfs 1.9G 572K 1.9G 1% /run
rc-svcdir 1.0M 136K 888K 14% /lib64/rc/init.d
cgroup_root 10M 0 10M 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs 1.9G 544K 1.9G 1% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1 497M 44M 429M 10% /boot
/dev/mapper/vg_sabayon-lv_home 177G 21G 147G 13% /home
I was trying to install Lineage 2 also it happened when i was trying to change a root file
maxlaw
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 0:32

Re: Not enough space error

Postby mélodie » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:25

maxlaw wrote:Filesystem---------------Size--Used--Avail--Use%--Mounted on
rootfs---------------------50G--8.8G---39G--19%------/
(...)
/dev/mapper/vg_sabayon-lv_home--177G--21G--147G--13%--/home
I was trying to install Lineage 2 also it happened when i was trying to change a root file


Hi,
I understand better with clean columns. What root file did you try to change and why ?
mélodie
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:41

Re: Not enough space error

Postby maxlaw » Wed Mar 07, 2012 10:54

I was trying to build my wine with updates to see if it helped it was a file in etc folder and when i went to save it said same thing " not enough space"
maxlaw
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 0:32

Re: Not enough space error

Postby mélodie » Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:17

I don't know what the problem is with your machine. Do you have a very large hard drive where all the space is not seen, or maybe do you have one of these hybrid hard drives ?
mélodie
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:41

Re: Not enough space error

Postby maxlaw » Wed Mar 07, 2012 12:52

i have a laptop
maxlaw
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 0:32

Re: Not enough space error

Postby mélodie » Wed Mar 07, 2012 13:36

maxlaw wrote:i have a laptop


In your laptop you are supposed to have either a hard drive or a ssh drive or a hybrid disk. Would you check if you have lshw installed and bring back the output of "lshw" as root ?

Please put it between code tags and keep the first and last prompt from the console in the paste. If you don't have it, try with a Live CD or Live USB. You should then have enough ram at least, to be able to install a tool able to give information about your hardware.
mélodie
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:41

Re: Not enough space error

Postby maxlaw » Wed Mar 07, 2012 22:32

Yea you kinda lost me there
maxlaw
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2012 0:32

Re: Not enough space error

Postby mélodie » Wed Mar 07, 2012 23:19

maxlaw wrote:Yea you kinda lost me there


Hi,

Start a small live CD, (a Sabayon one... Lxde for instance), then open a console, type:

$ su
# //then you are root

then type this:

# equo update && equo install lshw
# lshw > lshw.txt

(do not type the signs '$' and '#' the '$' just means you have user permissions in the console, and the '#' you have got the root/admin priviledges in the console, after typing 'su' and hitting the 'Enter' button : su means "substitute user", and when you don't say which user, the default is root.

To sum up, you type 'su' when you need admin rights to perform administrative tasks.

Then paste the whole content of lshw.txt here on the forum, between code tags. It means your first click on the button "Code" of the editor, and inside the tags you paste your text.
Example:
Code: Select all
some text


Is there anything more which I could explain to you, or is it ok ?

/may I ask you if you installed your Sabayon yourself ? If yes, didn't you find it difficult, or has it been smooth ? (trying to remember the fright first time I installed a distro, a few years ago... )
mélodie
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:41

Next

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests