Nvidia driver installed & cheatcode but still vesa? [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Nvidia driver installed & cheatcode but still vesa? [Solved]

Postby joe3 » Sun Sep 11, 2011 0:04

I installed nvidia, And thought I was getting it at first. But when I went to tweak the screen resolution from e17's :
settings->settings panel-> screen -> screen resolution it didn't offer very many choices...
So I looked aroud a bit and found that according to the /var/log/Xorg.0.log I looked at after a startx launched E17 session, It's xorg was still using vesa
Code: Select all
[   541.089] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/extensions/libdri2.so
[   541.089] (II) Module dri2: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   541.089]    compiled for 1.10.3, module version = 1.2.0
[   541.089]    ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 5.0
[   541.089] (II) Loading extension DRI2
[   541.089] (II) LoadModule: "vesa"
[   541.089] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/vesa_drv.so
[   541.090] (II) Module vesa: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[   541.090]    compiled for 1.10.2, module version = 2.3.0
[   541.090]    Module class: X.Org Video Driver
[   541.090]    ABI class: X.Org Video Driver, version 10.0
[   541.090] (II) VESA: driver for VESA chipsets: vesa
[   541.090] (--) using VT number 7

[   541.108] (II) Loading /usr/lib64/xorg/modules/drivers/vesa_drv.so
I tried putting xdriver=nvidia in /etc/default/grub, ran grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg checked that the cheetcode made it to grub.cfg and rebooted...

started e17 again, checked the settings again, <sigh>, closed down the x sever and checked the new log which still says it's loading vesa...

What am I missing here???

Actually though, the reason I wanted to tweak the resolution is likely something else...

I didn't install either gnome nor kde4, But I have a few applications from them. But no matter what I'm using the effective text size is an eye test. Though there are a few exceptions. The text inside the web page as viewed with Opera with the "view" set at 100% isn't bad, but the text inside the Location bar, the pull down menus & bookmarks are hard to read because of their size. The text in Enlightenments application menu isn't really any bigger but with the theme I'm using the the contrast of the menu text against the menu background helps.

I have konsole installed, But with a profile setting for 14 point text it comes out looking like 10 point.

I could probably tweak some of this stuff with the "scaling" settings, but if I remember right that will only work with e17's own stuff.

Thing is the two screen resolutions being offered are 1024x768 (Which is the ideal with my other 4 linux using nvidia on the same PC & monitor.) and 800x600 Which renders those small menu fonts etc... just about right, but everything else winds up too big (and of course the screen area is kind of small this way...)

Any suggestions?
Last edited by joe3 on Sun Sep 11, 2011 20:47, edited 1 time in total.
joe3
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 21:28

Re: Nvidia driver installed and cheatcode used but still ves

Postby micia » Sun Sep 11, 2011 1:31

Can you post your:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
and the output of:
Code: Select all
eselect opengl list
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Nvidia driver installed and cheatcode used but still ves

Postby joe3 » Sun Sep 11, 2011 13:36

micia wrote:Can you post your:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

http://pastebin.com/t7TJwQeF

That might be part of it. I never modified this file. I looked at the same file in the other installed distros where the nvidia driver is being used and they don't specify any resolutions. So I didn't have a working example to copy from. I suppose I could boot Arch, and take a screenshot of the open the screen resolution tool to use as a guide on which resolutions are missing here. But giving how many things equo did automatically such as updating my kernel and updating grub, I'd have thought it would have made the appropriate changes here as well???

micia wrote:and the output of:
Code: Select all
eselect opengl list

Code: Select all
 /home/jtwdyp/STUFF/ShuttleStuff
UnderTree=-> eselect opengl list
Available OpenGL implementations:
  [1]   nvidia
  [2]   xorg-x11 *
 /home/jtwdyp/STUFF/ShuttleStuff
UnderTree=->


Hmmmnnn I suspect this means I might want to do an
Code: Select all
eselect opengl 1
?????

Thanks
joe3
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 21:28

Re: Nvidia driver installed and cheatcode used but still ves

Postby micia » Sun Sep 11, 2011 14:49

The problem can be easily solved:

1) ensure to have the Nvidia drivers installed:
(as root)
Code: Select all
equo install nvidia-drivers


2) change this section of your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, you have to be root to do that:
Code: Select all
Section "Device"
 
    Identifier  "SabayonVga0"
    Driver      "vesa"
    #BusID    "PCI:00:05"
    #Option "RenderAccel" "on"
    #Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
    #Option "BusType" "PCI"
    #Option "ColorTiling" "on"
    #Option "EnablePageFlip" "on"
    # UseEvents is causing segmentation faults with
    # NVIDIA 6xxx, 7xxx and >=275.xx.xx drivers
    #Option "UseEvents" "True"
    Option "LogoPath" "/usr/share/backgrounds/sabayonlinux-nvidia.png"
 
EndSection


Change:
Driver "vesa"
to:
Driver "nvidia"

3) As you suspected, run:
(as root)
Code: Select all
eselect opengl set 1

or, if you like readability:
(as root)
Code: Select all
eselect opengl set nvidia


4) ensure not to have any xdriver=whatever stuff in your /boot/grub/grub.cfg, if you do, edit them away from your:
/etc/default/grub
and updade your grub.cfg:
(as root)
Code: Select all
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Nvidia driver installed and cheatcode used but still ves

Postby joe3 » Sun Sep 11, 2011 20:44

Ayup, that did it. Nvidia driver now in use... ;-)

And it even solved some of the small text issue.
Using the same examples, the menu/bookmark text size in opera improved'
And Konsole's profile selected font size is rendering more accurately.
(I note that the text inside Konsole's menu bar itself is still an eye test, But about the only time I use that menu is on those rare occasions that I need to edit a profile setting, So if the only place my fonts are too small are kde app menu text I'll consider the subtopic issue solved as well...
Thanks
--
Joe3
joe3
Advanced Hen
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun May 06, 2007 21:28


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest