Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby Zhenli » Sat Aug 27, 2011 9:26

Hİ guys ,

Yesterday I installed Sabayon 6 :bom:

screen http://oi55.tinypic.com/2h3pmhd.jpg

and upgrade system , auto install gnome3,gnome-shell....

now screen http://oi52.tinypic.com/jr6g4.jpg :(

how recovery old desktop ? :twisted:
Last edited by Zhenli on Tue Aug 30, 2011 13:54, edited 2 times in total.
Zhenli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:25

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem [Solved]

Postby micia » Sat Aug 27, 2011 10:53

Hi Zhenli, welcome to the Sabayon Linux Community :D

You cannot downgrade to Gnome2 anymore, unfortunately Gnome2 is now unmaintained from the Gnome Developers and we are now forced to move to Gnome3.

The Gnome Shell is not installed automatically, due to some issues with the ATI proprietary drivers that will be fixed in the next releases from AMD.
If you have not an ATI graphics card, you can consider installing it using:
(as root)
Code: Select all
equo install gnome-shell


If you setup the fallback mode properly, and you force it to start instead of the Shell, you can get a desktop environment pretty similar to the old one.

By the way, why did you add [Solved] to the topic subject? It does not look like solved to me, does it?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby Zhenli » Sat Aug 27, 2011 11:41

micia ,

Thank u...

gnome3 , gnome-shell is bad (my pc amd+ati)
how reinstall gnome2 ?

now not connect desktop :cry:
Zhenli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:25

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby micia » Sat Aug 27, 2011 13:29

You cannot reinstall Gnome2, Gnome2 is now unmaintained and obsolete, it is no more in the entropy repositories.

If you want a similar desktop environment, do not install the Gnome Shell, force the fallback mode:
Applications->System tools->System Settings->System Info->Graphics->Forced Fallback Mode
set it to "on".

Now edit your settings in:
Applications->System tools->Tweak Advanced Settings
to use the old backgrounds and themes.
If you don't have that option, you probably need to install gnome-tweak-tool:
(as root)
Code: Select all
equo install gnome-tweak-tool


You can enable some compositing effects with metacity using:
Code: Select all
gconf-editor

navigate to:
apps->metacity->general
tick this entry:
compositing_manager


What do you mean with you not being able to connect to the desktop?
You cannot log in, or you now have a black screen instead of GDM?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby Zhenli » Sat Aug 27, 2011 13:55

micia wrote:You cannot reinstall Gnome2, Gnome2 is now unmaintained and obsolete, it is no more in the entropy repositories.

If you want a similar desktop environment, do not install the Gnome Shell, force the fallback mode:
Applications->System tools->System Settings->System Info->Graphics->Forced Fallback Mode
set it to "on".

Now edit your settings in:
Applications->System tools->Tweak Advanced Settings
to use the old backgrounds and themes.
If you don't have that option, you probably need to install gnome-tweak-tool:
(as root)
Code: Select all
equo install gnome-tweak-tool


You can enable some compositing effects with metacity using:
Code: Select all
gconf-editor

navigate to:
apps->metacity->general
tick this entry:
compositing_manager


What do you mean with you not being able to connect to the desktop?
You cannot log in, or you now have a black screen instead of GDM?


Why ? I have in the live cd Gnome2
gnome3 very problematic

"Applications->System tools->System Settings->System Info->Graphics->Forced Fallback Mode"

login user and sabayon logos screen stopped , where desktop
will not stick to the desktop :oops:
Zhenli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:25

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby micia » Sat Aug 27, 2011 14:24

The LiveDVD has not Gnome3 because it was not yet on Sabayon when the LiveDVD was released. Now Sabayon has Gnome3 in its repositories and Gnome2 is no more maintained.
So you cannot reinstall Gnome2.
Your only mean to get Gnome2 back would be reinstalling Sabayon and not updating your system, but it will be just a matter of time, since Gnome2 is obsolete and soon no distribution will ship it.
The Gnome developers themselves are not maintaining it anymore.

:oops: I don't understand very well your issue, you mean that you have no more the Sabayon themes and backgrounds in the login screen and as your desktop background?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby Zhenli » Sat Aug 27, 2011 15:02

sorry my english very bad :(

my problem desktop , I can not see after the login screen to desktop
Zhenli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:25

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby micia » Sat Aug 27, 2011 15:13

It is not your English, it is my understanding to be very bad, I am not English either (and my English is very, very bad). :mrgreen:

Is there any error message or anything strange?
For example, do you get a black screen or do you get the usual login screen and, when you enter the username and password, it fails to login and brings you back to the login prompt?
Does it fail for any user or are you able to login as another user (for example, if you try this do it only for testing purposes, as root)?
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby Zhenli » Sat Aug 27, 2011 16:26

micia :lol:

login and desktop okey :wink:

next ss http://i51.tinypic.com/vor81l4.png
very very bad :x

where old gnome :cry:
Last edited by Zhenli on Tue Aug 30, 2011 13:54, edited 1 time in total.
Zhenli
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:25

Re: Upgrade system gnome3 problem

Postby micia » Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:37

you have installed the Gnome Shell, disable it, you will face a lot of issues with your ATI card, open the control center, if you can't find it, open a console and run:
Code: Select all
gnome-control-center


then force the fallback mode with:
System Info->Graphics->Force Fallback Mode to on

logout and then login again.
micia
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2718
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 16:41

Next

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests