gdm won't start after upgrade

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby dunsurfin » Sun Aug 07, 2011 20:58

There was a broken dbus-glib in Entropy which has now been repaired. viewtopic.php?f=53&t=24850&p=138648#p138648
It shouldn't be necessary to use portage now but, if you do, remember to
Code: Select all
layman -s sabayon
as well as
Code: Select all
emerge --sync
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby aido » Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:20

Hello,

I use x64 with the same problem. This happens with sabayon-weekly. So I had try several times to repair but doesn't work. I think that is a problem with the new kernel and the nvidia-drives.

What happens?

Two days ago I updated my System with sulfur. After restard the system stop in the login Shell. The graphical interface does not work (black screen).

Afte than I use following steps:

Code: Select all
equo update --force
equo upgrade
equo install nvidia-drivers


Problem not resolved....

greetings,
aido
aido
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:21

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby dunsurfin » Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:32

You need to be sure that the kernel and drivers match. Which kernel are you using and which Nvidia drivers?
It's also worth checking that opengl is set to Nvidia
Code: Select all
eselect opengl list
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!
dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby gosport_gaz » Mon Aug 08, 2011 9:40

Sorry Amitvin I've been off line.
I posted my log here:
http://pastebin.sabayon.org/pastie/6795.

It seems more complicated than just the vidio drivers, as I said it looks like some 100 programs failed to update, including - vidio drivers, program manager, network driver, parts of java, python and pearl. So I can't download any fixes; I'll need to reinstall Sabayon 5.5 and start again. I don't realy want to do this until we have a fix.

Hope that this helps someone to solve this.
Gaz
gosport_gaz
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:08

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby popsUlfr » Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:02

gosport_gaz wrote:I posted my log here:
http://pastebin.sabayon.org/pastie/6795.


I think you have the wrong link there or is it supposed to show a fstab?
popsUlfr
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 16:41

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby gosport_gaz » Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:50

No you're right, its the wrong link. I can't find my link from yesterday. I'v'e just tried to post it again, but I don't seem to be having any success. My post isn't apearing on the list and I'm not getting a code back.
I'll try again in a minute.
gosport_gaz
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:08

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby gosport_gaz » Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:55

gosport_gaz
Young Hen
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2010 11:08

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby popsUlfr » Mon Aug 08, 2011 13:09

gosport_gaz wrote:At last.
My log is here: http://pastebin.sabayon.org/pastie/6797


Does installing entropy fails aswell?
Code: Select all
equo install entropy

or equo
Code: Select all
equo install equo

If it fails you may want to try to install entropy through portage:
make sure you
Code: Select all
emerge --sync

and have a working portage tree in /usr/portage
make sure the sabayon overlay is added
Code: Select all
 layman -a sabayon

if it you get an error about missing git just emerge git(since entropy is failing)
Code: Select all
emerge -av git

retry adding the overlay.
now emerge entropy
Code: Select all
emerge -av entropy

you can also clean entropy before emerging it (to be on the safe side) but keep in mind that it will leave your system temporarily without entropy. (may be wise to first check if emerging it normally actually works before wiping everything out!)
Code: Select all
emerge -C entropy && emerge entropy

try the same with equo.

Another thing to do is to check if there are any issues with python ??(since entropy uses that)
Code: Select all
python-updater -p

it will show which packages are potentially broken. I personally doubt it could be an issue related to python though.
popsUlfr
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 16:41

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby kitsios » Mon Aug 08, 2011 13:27

DBus is working now, thanks!
kitsios
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 16:04

Re: gdm won't start after upgrade

Postby aido » Mon Aug 08, 2011 18:04

My problem solved today - sorry for the late answer. What I doing was simple...

Code: Select all
equo update
equo upgrade


This updated my nvidia-driver to 275.xx with 2.6.39 kernel

after them reboot into the new gnome3-shell desktop :D
aido
Young Hen
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 9:21

PreviousNext

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron