SAB 6: as much fun as Windows at its worst. [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

SAB 6: as much fun as Windows at its worst. [Solved]

Postby halcyon » Sun Jul 10, 2011 17:51

I have spent the last few weeks trying to sort a Sabayon 6 machine and I am still not winning. I have been running Sabayon for 18 months + as a main machine, on and off. I have had a few problems from time to time; some I fixed with help, some made me abandon the OS for a while. I do not have a good knowledge of programming or code, so when I search the forum, sometimes the instructions are obscure to me. I like Sabayon when it works, but I find it harder than Windows to fix when it suddenly goes wrong (usually after updates). This time the problem started with the big updates for 6; Entropy/Sulphur went down. With help from forum I partly fixed this, but not right. I did a full re-install of 6 from disk. This worked well until I did the updates. Since then I have what appears to be a Xorg or driver problem. I have done fresh installs of both KDE and GNU, I have followed instructions from the forum about drivers but I am not getting anywhere. I have had Xorg problems on this machine and Sabayon in the past, but it used to offer a menu to choose Xvesa as alternative, so I kept working. This time I get a blank screen until I go to terminal. I am determined to beat this and learn in the process, but I feel it should not be this difficult for an "ordinary" user trying to escape the tyranny of Microsoft. Any simple instructions for help will be much appreciated.
I tried to follow the logfile instructions/sabutil but without success.
The machine in question is running a Celeron dual core with 2 Gb ram and an integrated Nvidia graphics on mobo. It has a partitioned 600 Gb hdd with one other Linux OS.