A few questions

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

A few questions

Postby Trel » Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:57

I'm considering installing this in my dual boot configuration but I want to verify a few things.

-Will the setup detect my second harddrive with Windows and configure Grub correctly?
-Are root commands accessed with su or sudo?
-Is there any sort of package manager such as Synaptic over aptitude?
-How can I get it to support my screen resolution of 1152x864?
Trel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:42

Postby wolfden » Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:21

Try just looking on the forum a bit, all your answers are there.

Tons of resources Gentoo Handbook, Gentoo Wiki, Sabayon Wiki


Please See
http://www.sabayonlinux.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1730
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby Trel » Mon Dec 04, 2006 6:37

Ok, after looking I still am unclear on a few things

all the solutions for resolution seem to involve some boot commands, I have no idea what those are or how to use them, but even so, it sound like I would have to do it each time. What I did gather though is that these are run from the CD/DVD but I plan to install this so I wouldn't be able to do that anyway.

I didn't see anything about it auto-adding my windows partition.

And lastly, I did seem to see that portage is the package manager used. Are there any graphical frontends to that?
Trel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:42

Postby wolfden » Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:02

Kuroo = gui package manager

auto detects windows

cheat codes only need to be entered once if you need them, once installed if you don't like the resolution you can edit the xorg.conf file
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby Goatee » Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:49

or you can just hange the boot commands, it's only temporarily there but the changes stay.
Goatee
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK

Postby Trel » Mon Dec 04, 2006 13:56

Goatee wrote:or you can just hange the boot commands, it's only temporarily there but the changes stay.


Can that only be done via the CD/DVD or can you use those commands once it's been installed?
Trel
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:42

Postby Goatee » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:49

They work on the installed system
Goatee
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests