kopete doesn't start anymore [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by joost » Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:45

Looks like you suffer from this upstream bug.
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=221533
------- Comment #20 From Ed Cates 2011-01-06 16:24:15 -------
I have been having this issue with Kopete and our Openfire server for most of
this year, on various distributions. I finally got sick of Pidgin, and started
looking into it.

For those of you who control, or can influence, their Openfire configurations,
under Server Settings -> Security Settings, set "Client Connection Security" as
follows:
*Custom
Old SSL method: *Available
TLS method: *Required

That fixed my connectivity issues with Kopete (running KDE-unstable on FC14
However on my system (and network) google talk and jabber work normally with Kopete.
Besides this there also seems to be a problem with MSN protocol.
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:59

Yes, but how can i modify security settings if kopete doesn't even start? I've already written that i tried to delete kopete folder under /home/user/.kde/share/apps and purging/reinstalling it, trying to let it start without any configuration (or "vanilla" as someone loves to say)...in so doing i would have expected to have a brand-new kopete without any configuration or account...but it continues not to start AT ALL!

Thanks
Renzo

PS: any advice on how to replace that stupid lib to the previous version without corrupting the system? seems the only way...

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by joost » Sun Feb 27, 2011 13:34

Are you sure everything is installed correctly?
(equo update , equo upgrade, equo deptest, equo libtest)
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 15:21

Everything ok and working.
Every command deptest, libtest, etc... gives positive results.

I think the codes i posted in my first entry are self speaking: i repeat it seems (to me and to kde developers, at least) to be a problem introduced by the openssl lib upgrade to 1.0.0


Renzo

Pilum
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 16:00

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by Pilum » Sun Feb 27, 2011 16:16

I'm having the exact same problem.

The system is up to date and deptest and libtest reports nothing wrong.

Whenever I try to connect to MSN I get this:

Code: Select all

Application: Kopete (kopete), signal: Segmentation fault
[KCrash Handler]
#6  0x00007fee2322c900 in X509_NAME_cmp () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0
#7  0x00007fee229910b2 in OBJ_bsearch_ex () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#8  0x00007fee229ed8cc in ?? () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#9  0x00007fee22a1f9d5 in X509_OBJECT_retrieve_match () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#10 0x00007fee22a2010f in X509_STORE_add_cert () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#11 0x00007fee3c4a1e33 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#12 0x00007fee3c4a4d09 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#13 0x00007fee3c499908 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#14 0x00007fee3c49e745 in QSslSocket::qt_metacall(QMetaObject::Call, int, void**) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#15 0x00007fee23c99ea8 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/kde4/kopete_wlm.so
#16 0x00007fee3fd6dae7 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, QMetaObject const*, int, void**) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#17 0x00007fee3c47d9de in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#18 0x00007fee3c47fb58 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#19 0x00007fee3c4705f9 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#20 0x00007fee3ee7fddc in QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtGui.so.4
#21 0x00007fee3ee8495d in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtGui.so.4
#22 0x00007fee407f14b6 in KApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libkdeui.so.5
#23 0x00007fee3fd55e5c in QCoreApplication::notifyInternal(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#24 0x00007fee3fd8228a in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#25 0x00007fee393316b0 in g_main_context_dispatch () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#26 0x00007fee393355e8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#27 0x00007fee3933579c in g_main_context_iteration () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#28 0x00007fee3fd81ed3 in QEventDispatcherGlib::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#29 0x00007fee3ef30dae in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtGui.so.4
#30 0x00007fee3fd54b82 in QEventLoop::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#31 0x00007fee3fd54f6c in QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#32 0x00007fee3fd5902b in QCoreApplication::exec() () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#33 0x00000000004160f2 in _start ()
ICQ works just fine.

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 16:26

Hi Pilum and thanks for your participation. Yes it's the same problem, whith the difference that my kopete doesn't start at all!
Could you please check what version of openssl you have installed? mine is 1.0.0 and since it's been installed it started to give me such problems.

So are you saying that you can launch kopete without problems? have you set the "automatically connect" option? i use this option so it tries to connect to msn (and all others of my accounts) automatically (maybe that's why it suddenly crashes at the beginning)...what about you?

Thanks
Renzo

Pilum
Baby Hen
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 27, 2011 16:00

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by Pilum » Sun Feb 27, 2011 16:35

No, I have not set it to automatically connect.
openssl is version 1.0.0c

Kopete
Version 1.0.80
Using KDE Development Platform 4.6.00 (4.6.0)

KDE
Platform Version 4.6.00 (4.6.0)


If there's anything else you need to see, please specify.

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 16:59

I think it's enough, Pilum, thanks :)
Of course i could ask you to set it to automatically connect and see if it crashes at startup...but it would lead to a non-functioning kopete...so i wouldn't ask it to you :lol:
It's the same situation with the same versions; here's my explanation:

- there's been a change in msn protocol so i think we'll see some updates in the future (i hope in the NEAR future)
- i don't know if downgrading to openssl lib to 0.9.8 would work (anyway i don't want to try because there are a lot of dependencies and i'm frightened of having a corrupted system)
- since i've set the "automatically connect" option in kopete it crashed at start up; if i hadn't set it i wouldn't probably have had this problem (so i could have used at least the other non-msn accounts)

Now, since "probably" the only thing to do is wait, what can i do to let my kopete load without any account information and without options previously set? does it turn out that, probably, deleting my config files would affect something? (but i've already tried to purge my kopete and to delete my kopete folders under /user/.kde/share/apps without solutions).
Are my accounts/options setting stored in any other path?
Is deleting my config files definitely a non-sense,instead?

Happy to see someone else with the same problem as mine, though (just for the sake of solution, don't get me misunderstood :D )

Thanks
Renzo

dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Contact:

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by dunsurfin » Sun Feb 27, 2011 21:20

I don't know if this is any help but I had the constant crash because of MSN and edited my home/.kde4/share/config/kopeterc and changed this line:

Code: Select all

 [Behavior]
initialStatus=Online
to

Code: Select all

[Behavior]
initialStatus=Offline
That enabled kopete to start and I could remove my MSN account.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2803
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by joost » Sun Feb 27, 2011 21:52

found the issue.
qt-core should be recompiled.

I will do this asap. Even though we carefully tested everything regarding the openssl bump, it seems like this slipped through.
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

Post Reply