kopete doesn't start anymore [Solved]

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

kopete doesn't start anymore [Solved]

Post by sedo_5 » Tue Feb 22, 2011 13:15

Hello everyone!
I'm using Sabayon KDE (fully upgraded right now) 64bit. Today i had a very strange problem.
Kopete doesn't start at all! it worked flawlessly until yesterday night!
I tried to delete its app folder (in .kde/share/apps), I tried reinstalling and purging copmpletely the installation, nothing! just it doesn't start! (ps: there are no other packages related to kopete)
That's what pops up when i try to do further investigation:

- KCrash says in the bottom of its window "Segmentation fault (11)"

-from the terminal:

Code: Select all

kopete(19067)/kio (KDirWatch) KDirWatchPrivate::removeEntry: doesn't know "/home/renzo/.kde4/share/apps/kabc" 
kopete(19067)/libkdepim Akonadi::PluginLoader::scan: missing or empty X-KDE-ClassName value in " "/usr/share/apps/akonadi/plugins/serializer/akonadi_serializer_contactgroup.desktop" " 

kopete(19067)/libkdepim Akonadi::PluginLoader::scan: missing or empty X-KDE-ClassName value in " "/usr/share/apps/akonadi/plugins/serializer/akonadi_serializer_kcal.desktop" " 

kopete(19067)/libkdepim Akonadi::PluginLoader::scan: missing or empty X-KDE-ClassName value in " "/usr/share/apps/akonadi/plugins/serializer/akonadi_serializer_bookmark.desktop" " 

kopete(19067)/libkdepim Akonadi::PluginLoader::scan: missing or empty X-KDE-ClassName value in " "/usr/share/apps/akonadi/plugins/serializer/akonadi_serializer_mail.desktop" " 

kopete(19067)/libkdepim Akonadi::PluginLoader::scan: missing or empty X-KDE-ClassName value in " "/usr/share/apps/akonadi/plugins/serializer/akonadi_serializer_microblog.desktop" " 

kopete(19067)/libkdepim Akonadi::PluginLoader::scan: missing or empty X-KDE-ClassName value in " "/usr/share/apps/akonadi/plugins/serializer/akonadi_serializer_addressee.desktop" " 

kopete(19067)/kdecore (KLibrary) kde4Factory: The library "/usr/lib64/kde4/kopete_history.so" does not offer a qt_plugin_instance function.
kopete(19067)/libkopete Kopete::PluginManager::loadPluginInternal: Unable to find a plugin named ' "" '! 
Unknown signature value:  795 
Unknown signature value:  7 
Unknown signature value:  7 
Unknown signature value:  7 
Unknown signature value:  7 
JingleSessionManager::JingleSessionManager created. 
Creating the PushJingleSession task.... 
Object::connect: No such signal XMPP::JingleSessionManager::incomingSession()
KCrash: Application 'kopete' crashing...
KCrash: Attempting to start /usr/lib64/kde4/libexec/drkonqi from kdeinit
sock_file=/home/renzo/.kde4/socket-renzo-dell/kdeinit4__0
- that's what Kcrash reports:

Code: Select all

Application: Kopete (kopete), signal: Segmentation fault
[KCrash Handler]
#6  0x00007f520cf96900 in X509_NAME_cmp () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0
#7  0x00007f520c6fb0b2 in OBJ_bsearch_ex () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#8  0x00007f520c7578cc in ?? () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#9  0x00007f520c7899d5 in X509_OBJECT_retrieve_match () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#10 0x00007f520c78a10f in X509_STORE_add_cert () from /usr/lib/libcrypto.so.0.9.8
#11 0x00007f5227818e33 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#12 0x00007f522781bd09 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#13 0x00007f5227810908 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#14 0x00007f5227815745 in QSslSocket::qt_metacall(QMetaObject::Call, int, void**) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#15 0x00007f520da03ea8 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/kde4/kopete_wlm.so
#16 0x00007f522b0e4ae7 in QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, QMetaObject const*, int, void**) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#17 0x00007f52277f49de in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#18 0x00007f52277f6b58 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#19 0x00007f52277e75f9 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtNetwork.so.4
#20 0x00007f522a1f6ddc in QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtGui.so.4
#21 0x00007f522a1fb95d in QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtGui.so.4
#22 0x00007f522bb684b6 in KApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib/libkdeui.so.5
#23 0x00007f522b0cce5c in QCoreApplication::notifyInternal(QObject*, QEvent*) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#24 0x00007f522b0f928a in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#25 0x00007f52246a86b0 in g_main_context_dispatch () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#26 0x00007f52246ac5e8 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#27 0x00007f52246ac79c in g_main_context_iteration () from /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0
#28 0x00007f522b0f8ed3 in QEventDispatcherGlib::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#29 0x00007f522a2a7dae in ?? () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtGui.so.4
#30 0x00007f522b0cbb82 in QEventLoop::processEvents(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#31 0x00007f522b0cbf6c in QEventLoop::exec(QFlags<QEventLoop::ProcessEventsFlag>) () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#32 0x00007f522b0d002b in QCoreApplication::exec() () from /usr/lib64/qt4/libQtCore.so.4
#33 0x00000000004160f2 in _start ()
Furthermore: i tried to send a bug report with KCrash (this is my first time in sabayon) but it says that i haven't got the correct debug packages to analyze the problem (i remember that in the Ubuntu world, where i come from, you could install some dbg packages next to the proper package...but now in sabayon seems to work differently).

Is this a known problem? any of you had the same problem? i'd like to add that sulfur performed an update yesterday...maybe it's a know bug given by some updates?

I would be glad to receive your hints (and explanations about the dbg packages too).

Thanks you all in advance
Bye
Renzo
Last edited by sedo_5 on Mon Feb 28, 2011 16:49, edited 1 time in total.

ilovekiruna
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 15:16

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by ilovekiruna » Tue Feb 22, 2011 15:19

Hi Renzo,
I am experiencing the same problem. Up to now I could figure out that it is related to the MSN protocol. Kopete crashes everytime I try to sign in in MSN. ICQ and Jabber are working fine, though. I hope this can be a little help for you.

Bye

Patrick

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Tue Feb 22, 2011 16:11

Thanks Patrick.
In my case, Kopete doesn't start at all when i try to launch it.
If it was the same problem as yours, it would have started and then it would have given me some notification or error (as i think it's showing in your case). Infact, just because i wanted to avoid this possibility, i deleted all the folders named "kopete" in ./kde/share/apps (i think it's enough...if someone thinks i have to delete some other files please tell me!).

I'm also thinking right now about another possibility: what about checking the log of sulfur, which i remember has performed some upgrades yesterday? maybe there were some upgrades of kopete related packages or libs...can you point me toward the files i should look at?

Any advice?
Thanks

Renzo

ilovekiruna
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 15:16

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by ilovekiruna » Tue Feb 22, 2011 16:50

Hi Renzo,
it worked for me, because kopete needs to get the saved passwords from KWallet. Until I finally enter my password in KWallet to open the wallet, kopete stays open and I can use it, of course just in the offline state.

For the files, I can't give you a good hint. At least I didn't find out which package was actually causing the trouble. So I just tried to install and uninstall packages somehow randomly. Just in case it might help, the packages I played with were:
OpenSSL
QCA
QCA-OSSL

I hope this helps and somebody more experienced will be able to solve this issue.

Good luck

Patrick

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:48

bump

please...any suggestion? at least tell me if some of you are experiencing the same problem!
Thanks

Renzo

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 17:16

Update: in the kde forum they discovered that there is a problem in the openssl library (you can read it in the code part i posted from kcrash).
So it's a problem of libraries...what can i do?
Anyone having my problem?

Renzo

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 17:23

up

joost
Sagely Hen
Posts: 2818
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2006 12:11
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by joost » Sat Feb 26, 2011 22:45

I was only able to crash Kopete when MSN was enabled.
I'll have a look if there can be something done about this. Lately I've seen many chat clients having problems with MSN since upstream Microsoft seems to have made some changes in the protocol.
My blog | Mastodon | Please support Sabayon: Become a Patron

timothyRlamora
Growing Hen
Posts: 102
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 6:15
Location: Logsden,Oregon
Contact:

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by timothyRlamora » Sun Feb 27, 2011 1:50

Microsoft has made changes to thier protocol's this is due to a pre-beta test of windows 8 which will be out soon

sedo_5
Growing Hen
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2010 19:20

Re: kopete doesn't start anymore

Post by sedo_5 » Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:22

Sorry guys, but i'm beginning to loose my mind on this...
If you say that the problem is due to msn changes in the protocol, why does it have to crash kopete completely?!?! I mean, i'm using kopete also with other protocols (facebook, icq, etc...) and i cannot believe that kopete crashes only because of an msn protocol change...it would continue to start and work with other protocols.
But in this case kopete crashes without even creating the window! i cannot believe that a single problem in a protocol could avoid me to connect to other protocols: that's why i tried to delete every kopete setting (in so doing, i would have deleted the msn account) because if msn (which is the cause, you say) isn't there it cannot create problems.
I think, instead, it's a problem with the openssl lib, but i'm still incredulous that if i'm not even asking kopete to connect to msn server (deleting every account i created in the past) it connects to it instead and crashes.....seriously guys!!!!!! :x

I'm also tempted to replace openssl lib 1.0 (which is the problem) whith the previous one (0.9.8 ) but there are a lot of dependencies (gives me lots of alerts)...and i really cannot do that easily, i'm afraid to corrupt the system.

it's frustrating... :(

Renzo

Post Reply