Which (modern) laptops work OK with Sabayon?

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Which brands of laptop work OK with Sabayon

Poll ended at Wed Dec 06, 2006 15:41

Acer
2
22%
Asus
1
11%
Dell
2
22%
Fujitsu Siemens
0
No votes
HP
2
22%
IBM
0
No votes
Lenovo
0
No votes
LG
1
11%
Sony
0
No votes
Toshiba
1
11%
 
Total votes: 9

mandrsn1
Baby Hen
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2005 22:49

Post by mandrsn1 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 16:22

I have an IBM T43 and T60p which both work flawlessly.

Svedge
Baby Hen
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 17:14

Post by Svedge » Sun Mar 25, 2007 19:30

Dell Inspiron 8600. Pentium M 1.4GHz, 1.25 GB RAM, ATi Radeon 9600 Pro Turbo 128MB. No problems so far.

monday90
Simple Hen
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 23:13
Location: Aldershot, U.K.

Post by monday90 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 21:41

Well mine is a Mesh pegasus 17" With an Athlon64 3400 ati mobility radeon9600 and 1.5 GB ram. Its a rebadged Clevo D47K made in China. It is running 3.3 a treat, also the built in webcam and touchpad have been configured properly. I never thought I would get the webcam to work, ever. Havent tried the modem yet and as I don't need it I probably never will.

joe.pelayo
Young Hen
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 0:08

Post by joe.pelayo » Fri Mar 30, 2007 8:55

I am making this post from an Acer Aspire 5102 WLMi laptop.
Specs:
AMD Turion 64 X2 TL50
1GB DDR2 PC4200
120GB
Atheros Wireless (supposedly works, I will try it tomorrow)
Webcam (it would surprise me if it works because drivers are still in development)
SD/MCC card reader (same as the webcam).
ATI Radeon Xpress 1100 (recognized at the beginning as a Xpress 200M). This is the only 'problem' because I had to fight with Sabayon for it to use the correct resolution/drivers. Now I am trying to find out how to enable Beryl (it works with other Linux's with XGL only).
I am pleased with the performance overall.
Joe.

burki
Baby Hen
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:13

Post by burki » Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:33

Hallo,
i just succesfully installed sabayon on my Sony Vaio VGN-A317M.
It's great. I had no problem during installation!

For me it seems that the gentoo-distributions (i also use gen2vdr at home) are running best, so i was happy when i heard about this multimedia-full-hdd-installable-gentoo-distribution called sabayon!
:)

Another reason to install sabayon on the notebook was, that the game enemy territory (ET) freezed on windows xp when i activated punkbuster. i tried everything (also reinstall of windows xp) but it didn't work.

NOW under sabayon it WORKS great. The ati-drivers for the X600 works great and the installation of ET was easy.


PROBLEMS & QUESTIONS:

1. I activated the sonypid to use the Sony-Vaio-Support in KDE and it worked, but how can i configure the hardware-buttons?

2. the following message spams my dmesg:

Code: Select all

...
[ 1012.224000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.224000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.224000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.324000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.324000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.324000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.424000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.424000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.424000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.524000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.524000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.524000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.624000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.624000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.624000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.724000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.724000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.724000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.824000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.824000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
[ 1012.824000] Asus ACPI: Error reading brightness
Besides comes a few times a windows with "brightness = 0".
What can i do against this?

3. I have this gamer- hardware: Saitek Pro Gamer Command Unit
Image

It is a usb-gamer-keyboard and is detected as "saitek pro gamer command unit" but bi don know now to configure/use it.

4. I would like to add a sony to the poll but itś closed, right?

Thank you very much for help,
burki

matthias
Baby Hen
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 6:13
Location: Luxembourg

Post by matthias » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:22

I am using an IBM/Lenovo T60 and it works fine with Sabayon 3.3 (XGL/Beryl too)

Matthias

ajmatson
Baby Hen
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 9:10
Location: Chandler, AZ USA
Contact:

Post by ajmatson » Thu Apr 12, 2007 0:51

Just bought a Sony Vaio VGN-N250E and it works great. Nothing missing and the 224MB video looks real nice with Beryl. I just toasted my Ubuntu install for Sabayon.

Ron.W
Simple Hen
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 20:11

Post by Ron.W » Wed Apr 18, 2007 18:56

Medion MD95500 works great with Sabayon-Linux
The MD95500 is the same model as the ARIMA W810, which means the ARIMA should also work.

In the live-DVD beryl worked fine allready (on Nvidia 6600 go) , and the W-Lan using WPA (intel 2200bg) and Lan-Adapter (Marvell 88E8036) are also configured without any problems.

After the installation I managed to use static IP with kwifimanager instead of DHCP, and tried to get signals form the internal TV-Card Fly DVB-T Duo Mini-PCI , which is only partly detected by sabayon. I'll write a short tutorial about how to make this card work in sabayon.

Suspend to ram also works, but until now only if beryl is not active.

Greetings
Ron.

lemomo
Young Hen
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 1:28
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Post by lemomo » Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:58

HP dv5094 works great with Sabayon. Only trouble is ATI 200M graphics but you can get it working for XGL if you look at wiki in minutes. In 3.26 it worked out of the box and so does in 3.4 Loop 1. Whats wireless related Sabayon was always far superior to any other distro I tried. I have in built broadcom wireless chip and also Hawking cardbus 8 dBa antenna ocassionaly used for "wireless security penetrating" and as far as I remeber I was able to use it properly only in Sabayon (since version 3.1 !!!) or M$ xxxpppplease help.... it's crashing again!!! Not saying how wonderfuly and cool it runs my amd 64 processor. Runs like a dream........ :wink:

Post Reply