proaudio layman

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

proaudio layman

Postby aunzim » Tue Nov 28, 2006 15:17

I would like to use Sabayon for music production.

Anybody knows if kernel 2.6.18 is realtime capable or i should try to compile a new one? If so, i tried to do that with sabayon before, but because i'm a newbie, and with the way that S. kernel/init is configurated is very for me to compile a working linux kernel.

being a newbie when i had an inner desire ;) to do an upgrade what show I do?

- use kuroo (done that in the past and system went from stable to a wreck) The strange thing is that with debian I had no problem to upgrade (in a unstable/testing branch) and with sbayon there are allways a lot of blockers...

- wait for the next sabayon version?

thanks a lot for your work, and time ;)
aunzim
Baby Hen

Postby wolfden » Tue Nov 28, 2006 15:32

Which version are you using now?

Unless you know what your are doing it is best to wait till the next version of Sabayon is out. You can always update packages as you go along. Kuroo is too flakey, it's not recommended to use. Jump to konsole and use emerge - guaranteed to work

I guess I don't understand about the realtime thing, maybe someone else knows what you are referring too.
wolfden
Sharecropper

Postby aunzim » Tue Nov 28, 2006 15:38

some information about realtime kernel:

http://proaudio.tuxfamily.org/wiki/inde ... .6_Kernels

And why i ask if the sabayon kernel has the realtime activaded or not:

http://www.linuxdevices.com/news/NS9566944929.html
aunzim
Baby Hen

Postby ed57 » Tue Nov 28, 2006 17:15

Hi and welcome,

have you tried to use Ardour or Rosegarden with Jack (Sound server in realtime) ?
They are included in Sabayon.
If Ardour won't launch because Jack is not up, then launch Jack with the command launcher (Ardour and Jack are not showed in the menu).