Sabayon and 32bits

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Are you using Sabayon 32bit or 64bit?

32bit
11
30%
64bit
15
41%
Both
11
30%
 
Total votes: 37

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Sabayon and 32bits

Post by lxnay » Wed Dec 15, 2010 22:48

I do wonder,
how many users are still using the 32bit version of Sabayon?
You can double check with:

Code: Select all

$ uname -m
"i686" stands for 32bit.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3539
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by sabayonino » Thu Dec 16, 2010 0:20

I don't use 32bits for at least 6 years

I only have an old Toshiba Laptop 32-bit PC that I use for testing.

:)

no more development for the 32b in the future ?? :roll:

_cnfss_
Growing Hen
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 17:09

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by _cnfss_ » Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:39

I have 2 installations, a Notebook with KDE in 64bits and a PC with XFCE in 32.

The PC is a P4 from my family, and there is no future improvement in that spec...
"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former."
"Sólo dos cosas son infinitas, el universo y la estupidez humana, y no estoy seguro acerca de la primera."
- Albert Einstein

tekwyzrd
Technological Hen
Posts: 331
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 23:56
Location: Northeastern Ohio

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by tekwyzrd » Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:49

I use it and plan to do so until this old athlonXP 2600+ breaks down
Former Sabayon user (2005 - 2013) and current Arch user.
I liked Sabayon until it switched to Rigo and becoming the gentoo equivalent of Ubuntu. Extreme browsing? Extreme gaming? Extreme work? Extreme development? Like, totally gnarly, dude!

joeoden
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by joeoden » Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:54

Still using (not often) two 32 bit computers running Sabayon x86
Just waiting for hardware failure before replacing with 64 bit

PennyRoyal
Simple Hen
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 22:23
Location: Houston, Texas USA

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by PennyRoyal » Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:14

I use a Live boot USB stick for rescue and repair purposes. I use 32bit because I never know what type of equipment I will be working on till I see it. I use 64bit on all my personal stuff.

Penny
Sabayon 16.11 KDE64
i7 4770K @ 3.5
MSI Z87-GD65 w/CM V8 HSF
16GB Vengeance DDR3 w/GMCEC0 HSF
2X EVGA GTX 1080 FTW SLI
240 Neutron GTX SSD
3x2TB SATA
CM HAF 932 w/Corsair 850w
Triple Samsung 40" 4k TV/Monitors

Pollo_Loco
Baby Hen
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:35
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by Pollo_Loco » Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:09

Only 64 bit for me and the future also.
Cheers, Big Ears!

DΞLL Precision M6500 "Big Dog": i7-820QM w/USB 3.0, 8.0GB DDR3-1333, Intel x-25M 160 G2 + 500GB 7200.3, nVidia Quadro FX 3800M 1.0GB DDR3, RGBLED, Intel 6300 //Win7Pro x64/Sabayon KDE 4.5.4 x64

dunsurfin
Sagely Hen
Posts: 1333
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 21:38
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK
Contact:

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by dunsurfin » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:02

3 installations two of which are 32 bit and one is 64 bit. I don't intend changing the 32 bit hardware for at least a year.
Self-righteousness is a loud din raised to drown the voice of guilt within us - Eric Hoffer

Don't believe what it says on the right - I am anything but sagely; More oniony!

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen
Posts: 8218
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 5:40
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Thu Dec 16, 2010 16:20

PennyRoyal wrote:I use a Live boot USB stick for rescue and repair purposes. I use 32bit because I never know what type of equipment I will be working on till I see it. I use 64bit on all my personal stuff.
Note that you cannot chroot into a 64-bit installation from a 32-bit LiveCD/DVD (or 32-bit Live boot USB pen drive either).

Kakihara73
Baby Hen
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 21:51
Location: ..::: Paradise City :::.. ...no, Italy >_>

Re: Sabayon and 32bits

Post by Kakihara73 » Thu Dec 16, 2010 16:58

mine is 32bit ^^

8)

Post Reply