Question with Azureus

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Question with Azureus

Postby akillians » Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:33

I just installed Azureus with emerge and everything seemed to go fine after fighting with java awhile. So i try to open it from the menu and nothing just a bouncing frog, so the i try from konsole and get this error message not real sure what too do from here.using /home/aj/.azureus/gentoo.config


Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 181, in ?
vm = get_vm(pkg)
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 110, in get_vm
target = get_needed_target(pkg)
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 47, in get_needed_target
for pkg in get_needed_packages(pkg):
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 37, in get_needed_packages
for dep in pkg.deps():
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'deps'
Couldn't get needed information

So if anyone can help that would be great

thank you
akillians
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:14
Location: GA

Postby anagor » Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:43

Hi,
what is your cureently selected java VM?
you can check it with :
eselect java-vm show

and as root you can change it with the same eselect command.
by the look of the error output gjl (gnu java linker (i think)) can't get info on java VM to run on.

cheers;
anagor
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:11

Postby akillians » Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:33

so im thinking and pretty sure the vm needs to be changed to sun-jre-bin-1.5. If i am wrong please correct me. and using eselect i couldn't figure out how to change the active java-vm(wich is currently set at sun-jdk-1.5) although it seems straight forward... so if someone could help that would be great
akillians
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:14
Location: GA

Postby cvill64 » Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:41

use java-config instead of eselect for that
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby akillians » Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:54

thank you for the advice that was much easier.. although i now have to reinstall azureus because of my own doing i will let you know the outcome of the vm change


thanks again
akillians
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:14
Location: GA

Postby akillians » Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:58

well after the reinstall still nothing but a bouncing frog and when ran from the terminal i get this



using /home/aj/.azureus/gentoo.config
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 181, in ?
vm = get_vm(pkg)
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 110, in get_vm
target = get_needed_target(pkg)
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 47, in get_needed_target
for pkg in get_needed_packages(pkg):
File "/usr/bin/gjl", line 37, in get_needed_packages
for dep in pkg.deps():
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'deps'
Couldn't get needed information



still not sur what to make of that.any suggestions
akillians
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:14
Location: GA

Postby akillians » Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:07

ok apparently messing with java-config is a bad idea because now Amarok doesn't run just a bouncing wolf? more than likely has nothing to do with java.........latley i've done nothing but fight with Sabayon here is the error message i got from the terminal

@localhost ~ $ amarok
Amarok: [Loader] Starting amarokapp..
Amarok: [Loader] Don't run gdb, valgrind, etc. against this binary! Use amarokap p.
QLayout "unnamed" added to QVBox "unnamed", which already has a layout
QLayout: Adding KToolBar/mainToolBar (child of QVBox/unnamed) to layout for Play listWindow/PlaylistWindow
@localhost ~ $ amarokapp: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/libamarok.so.0: undefi ned symbol: _ZN12QProgressBarD2Ev

This is crutial to me Azureus can wait
thanks in advance for any help
akillians
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:14
Location: GA

Postby cvill64 » Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:40

? this sounds like a bad/corrupt install
cvill64
Sagely Hen
 
Posts: 2185
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 10:03
Location: Virginia, USA

Postby akillians » Thu Nov 16, 2006 3:57

of the whole distro or just amarok?
akillians
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2006 0:14
Location: GA

Postby johnnyhay » Sun Nov 26, 2006 5:11

It sounds like you had a bad install of Azureus.
Azureus updates by it's self, when you open it. So why did you emerge??
Oh well. Sabayon 3.2 is out and you should update, if you haven't.
Use Ktorrent to get it and you might want to clean your burner before your burn again.
Azureus works great for me, by the way. :)
johnnyhay
Technological Hen
 
Posts: 304
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 8:54
Location: Google's main DNS

Next

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests