How do I install an RPM

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Goatee
Sharecropper
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK

How do I install an RPM

Post by Goatee » Wed Oct 18, 2006 17:23

I have a brother MFC210C printer/scanner (don't care about the fax),
The drivers aren't included with 3.1,
They're not in portage,

It seems the only place you can get them is the brother download page:
http://solutions.brother.com/linux/en_us/index.html

So I downladed the RPM's (there are also .deb files if that's easier).

Then I thought i'd install them but it seems that there are no programs to do this.

And when I tried to install kpackage it said that:

Error: the kde-base/kde-env package conflicts with another package;
the two packages cannot be installed on the same system together.
Please use 'emerge --pretend' to determine blockers.

--pretend gives:

kde-base/kde-env (is blocking kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.5-r2)


thanks for any help, or just for reading through.

ed
Simple Hen
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 20:36
Location: UK

Post by ed » Wed Oct 18, 2006 17:40

Check you have the dependencies then:

Code: Select all

rpm -Uvih --nodeps [rpm-name]


This ignores dependencies as otherwise it'll fail because there will be no other RPM's in the database. You can easily use RPM in addition to other package management systems.

Goatee
Sharecropper
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK

Post by Goatee » Wed Oct 18, 2006 19:15

Tried it, think it worked, printer doesn't.

There must be more drivers in portage, I see only nvidia and ati!

san
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 13:16

Post by san » Thu Dec 07, 2006 13:38

Hi, testing Sabayon here at work, it's really nice, but then again I'm a long time Gentoo user!

Only thing is, I can't install RPM's. I get this message:

"error: cannot open packages database in /var/lib/rpm"

I've tried "rpmdb --rebuilddb" and re-emerge rpm, and change permissions on /var/lib/rpm/Packages, but nothing helps. I also tried --nodeps and --force, still same error message.

Is RPM broken on Sabayon 3.2?

Thanks for any help!

lxnay
Land Owner
Posts: 3596
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 23:16
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by lxnay » Thu Dec 07, 2006 14:36

Please avoid rpm and use http://www.linuxprinting.org's ppds as reference.

Those drivers are not for CUPS but for ancient LPR system. You should see if the latest beta/alpha/rc release of foomatic does include these drivers. They're released under the GPL by Brother, so, they'll be supported ASAP by the community.
Image
Join us on IRC (chat.freenode.net #sabayon or WebChat)
Submit bugs to our Bug Tracker
Follow me on Twitter
Add me on Facebook
Add me on Google+

san
Baby Hen
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2006 13:16

Post by san » Thu Dec 07, 2006 19:53

Oh ok, I'm not talking about printing, but general rpm package installs. Sorry if I'm hijacking the thread, the topic just fits my question. Unfortunately some applications only come as a rpm (commercial in this case).

So we should avoid rpm? I would love to ;) but as mentioned it's not always possible. Is this only in Sabayon 3.2, and would it help to maybe downgrade rpm?

Thank you, and great job on this distro!

Goatee
Sharecropper
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK

Post by Goatee » Fri Dec 08, 2006 17:44

lxnay wrote:Please avoid rpm and use http://www.linuxprinting.org's ppds as reference.

Those drivers are not for CUPS but for ancient LPR system. You should see if the latest beta/alpha/rc release of foomatic does include these drivers. They're released under the GPL by Brother, so, they'll be supported ASAP by the community.


Linux printing recommends using the RPMs. There is an alternative .deb package. Would this be any better?

Dark_MaGe
Your Farmer
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:19
Location: Catania Italy
Contact:

Post by Dark_MaGe » Fri Dec 08, 2006 18:52

yes on the page you've send there's a link for the source drivers...so get them decompress...compile and install ;)
Image

ed
Simple Hen
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 20:36
Location: UK

Post by ed » Fri Dec 08, 2006 20:46

Or you could use rpm2tgz to get the contained files.

Goatee
Sharecropper
Posts: 599
Joined: Fri May 05, 2006 16:15
Location: England, UK

Post by Goatee » Sat Dec 09, 2006 9:13

The source drivers are only for some printers, not including mine.

I'm using an MFC210C, printing worked in suse 9.2 but scanning never did.

Is there any way to make an RPM list it's dependencies so I can see if I have satisfied them?

Post Reply