64-bit or 32-bit confusion

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

64-bit or 32-bit confusion

Postby ThrnClwn » Mon Oct 16, 2006 14:24

I downloaded SL from the SL homepage. I am very sure I did not download the 64-bit version, but still in my control center it says so-- x86_64. And I don't think my motherboard supports 64-bit -- well, maybe, it says something about being optimized for both.

But if the case is so, that I am using the 64-bit version, is it possible to upgrade (or downgrade) to 32-bit?
ThrnClwn
Young Hen
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 14:01
Location: Earth

Postby kolsyra » Mon Oct 16, 2006 17:35

64bit won't boot if you have a 32bit processor so you will definatly notice.
kolsyra
Young Hen
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 14:31
Location: Sweden

Postby ThrnClwn » Mon Oct 16, 2006 17:55

I just read my mother boards manual, it says it has support for 64-bit.

Godt å se at det flere personer fra skandinavia her! :)
ThrnClwn
Young Hen
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 14:01
Location: Earth

Postby Dark_MaGe » Mon Oct 16, 2006 20:19

actually you have to check the CPU...not the motherboard...
Dark_MaGe
Your Farmer
 
Posts: 1699
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:19
Location: Catania Italy

Postby wolfden » Mon Oct 16, 2006 20:55

ThrnClwn wrote:I just read my mother boards manual, it says it has support for 64-bit.

Godt å se at det flere personer fra skandinavia her! :)


try running this command

# uname -a

that should spit out some really nice info for ya - post the output
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby ThrnClwn » Mon Oct 16, 2006 21:48

Code: Select all
Linux theroom 2.6.18-gentoo #1 SMP Tue Sep 26 11:34:30 UTC 2006 x86_64 Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
ThrnClwn
Young Hen
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 14:01
Location: Earth

Postby SteveyDevey » Thu Nov 30, 2006 4:30

ThrnClwn wrote:
Code: Select all
Linux theroom 2.6.18-gentoo #1 SMP Tue Sep 26 11:34:30 UTC 2006 x86_64 Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.80GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
It looks like your chip is a 64bit chip, and the control center may just be reporting that. You may certainly have the 32bit version of the operating system, but that isn't a problem, since it will run on a 64bit chip.
SteveyDevey
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 3:54


Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest