problem with emerge -uav world right off the bat.

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Postby mrscotty99 » Sat Dec 02, 2006 1:41

correction... the kuroo stuff wasnt grayed out like i saw when i was messin with it.. sorry..
but all the rest i'm still bitchin about...lol


scotty
mrscotty99
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 19:10
Location: City of the olives, Ca

Postby wolfden » Sat Dec 02, 2006 4:30

:P not everyone wants to live on the edge :P
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby Square Bottle » Sun Dec 03, 2006 1:09

I might point out that there's a reason why pretty much every review of Sabayon uses the phrase "bleeding edge" to describe it. Think about that for a minute. If cvill and lxnay discourage emerge world, then perhaps they're trying to save you from going over that bleeding edge and falling off the cliff. ;)
My soul hurts. Please read what happened. It hurts, and nothing will happen. Perhaps they will try to soothe their conscience by removing this from my signature, so read it, and talk about it.
Square Bottle
Growing Hen
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2006 6:57
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby thecdn » Sun Dec 03, 2006 4:07

Square Bottle wrote:I might point out that there's a reason why pretty much every review of Sabayon uses the phrase "bleeding edge" to describe it. Think about that for a minute. If cvill and lxnay discourage emerge world, then perhaps they're trying to save you from going over that bleeding edge and falling off the cliff. ;)


I understand what everyone is saying, but it looks to me as a sabayon newbie, that emerge world is the equivalent of the debian apt-get upgrade. If we can't run it, how do we routinely update our systems? We can't emerge --update programs individually.
thecdn
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 23:43
Location: North Lauderdale, FL

Postby wolfden » Sun Dec 03, 2006 4:22

Just update as you need. You don't need to update all programs at one time. You will break Sabayon as it is a preconfigured Gentoo. There is a reason to their methods to make things work out of the box.

If you know what you're doing than do the world updates. Gentoo stable is KDE 3.2 I believe, so it's not all about new.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Postby thecdn » Sun Dec 03, 2006 22:33

wolfden wrote:Just update as you need.


How will I know what pgms have an update available? Is there an emerge command that will indicate which pgms among the ones you have installed have updates available?
thecdn
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 23:43
Location: North Lauderdale, FL

Postby wolfden » Mon Dec 04, 2006 3:32

well if you do

# emerge --sync

than if you are curious if a new packages is available you can simple search

# emerge -s package


For example I want to see if a new version of firefox is out

[email protected] ~ $ emerge -s mozilla-firefox
Searching...
[ Results for search key : mozilla-firefox ]
[ Applications found : 2 ]

* www-client/mozilla-firefox
Latest version available: 2.0-r1
Latest version installed: 2.0-r1
Size of files: 41,687 kB
Homepage: http://www.mozilla.org/projects/firefox/
Description: Firefox Web Browser
License: MPL-1.1 NPL-1.1

* www-client/mozilla-firefox-bin
Latest version available: 2.0
Latest version installed: [ Not Installed ]
Size of files: 15,002 kB
Homepage: http://www.mozilla.org/projects/firefox
Description: Firefox Web Browser
License: MPL-1.1 NPL-1.1

you can see the latest version you have and the latest version available


Pretty Neat huh?
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Previous

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest