Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby Tony-photoplus » Mon May 18, 2009 16:49

I have a cheap camera as thats is all I can afford, its only a Fuji Finepix5600. When you can't work its frustrating when you have a desire so great that the goal is to far for you to reach. So I have to make do with what I have and make the most of it ..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/tony_photoplus/

And the forum I help run is

http://phoenixdigitalphotographyandimages.yuku.com/directory

And the bad news is, we are back to the dreaded grey background and large login. So I think its time to call it a day and forget about Linux for some while. Very sad, but I have wasted so much time in the last 4 months it cost me as well, so I shall unfortunately have to keep to Windows.

Thanks for the help

Tony
Dual Boot - Windows XP
Sabayon 4.1 (64bit)
Dual CPU 64bit 3.1mhz
4.1 gb ram
220 gb disk with 500gb external disk
Tony-photoplus
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 23:36

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby Thev00d00 » Mon May 18, 2009 17:20

$ ./Thev00d00.sh --sneak-into-thread

Those photos are really nice!

Image

is my favourite, cheeky chap!

$ ./Thev00d00.sh --sneak-ot-of-thread
Image
Please report Bugs on the Bugzilla, not forum
Please Adopt an Unanswered thread
Website / Blog : v00d00.net
twitter: Follow Me
G+: Circle Me
Thev00d00
Generally Awesome (tm)
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 15:52
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby wolfden » Tue May 19, 2009 5:27

Tony, I added ya as a contact on flickr

I use a canon rebel xt

As far as struggles with linux, have you tried ubuntu? You just need to find the distro for you.
wolfden
Sharecropper
 
Posts: 9050
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2006 0:55
Location: Midwest USA

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby Tony-photoplus » Tue May 19, 2009 8:25

wolfden wrote:Tony, I added ya as a contact on flickr

I use a canon rebel xt

As far as struggles with linux, have you tried ubuntu? You just need to find the distro for you.


I have tried many and Ubuntu was one I have tried several times and each time that failed. The closest I had that worked without a problem was MEPIS and that problem was sound. We could not resolve the problem with the sound. There are three great support forums I have found doing this and that is here, Mepis and Mandriva, all great help. The others when you had a continuous problem just stopped replying. They didn't want to know and the worst two were Mint and Ubuntu and Kubuntu wasn't far behind. Gnome is like working with a GUI I was using 10years ago, so always looking for KDE. Ubuntu, its design looks as if someone has defecated over your screen :lol:

Thank you, your help was appreciated

Tony
Dual Boot - Windows XP
Sabayon 4.1 (64bit)
Dual CPU 64bit 3.1mhz
4.1 gb ram
220 gb disk with 500gb external disk
Tony-photoplus
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 23:36

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby joeoden » Tue May 19, 2009 8:48

Just out of curiosity what sort of video card do you have in the system that you seem to be having all these problems

You have listed most of your hardware but not what type of video card
Joe
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby Tony-photoplus » Tue May 19, 2009 9:52

As far as I know the NVidia card has been no problem here or any other its been other problems I have had to tackle, but here is the details..

Display:
Video Adapter NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT (512 MB)

Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Realtek HD Audio output
Audio Adapter WsAudio_DeviceS(1)
Processors / AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ ]

Processor Properties:
Manufacturer AMD
Version AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+
External Clock 200 MHz
Maximum Clock 3200 MHz
Current Clock 3000 MHz
Type Central Processor
Voltage 1.4 V
Status Enabled
Upgrade ZIF
Socket Designation Socket M2


Tony
Dual Boot - Windows XP
Sabayon 4.1 (64bit)
Dual CPU 64bit 3.1mhz
4.1 gb ram
220 gb disk with 500gb external disk
Tony-photoplus
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 23:36

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby joeoden » Tue May 19, 2009 10:26

Yes I agree the 9400 GT shouldn't be a problem, just all the problems you are having is making it very interesting

I am going to buy some new hardware when I get down to Melbourne later on in the week, I've been thinking of getting a 9400 GT card for my backup system (this doesn't help you with your problems)

To bad we live in different parts of the world, as I would like to see what is going on with your system

Do you have another computer to see if you can create the same problems?

Good work on your photo stream

Don't give up
Joe
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby Tony-photoplus » Tue May 19, 2009 23:14

I don't have any more computers, but if you like I can retrieve any logs/files that might show the sequence of booting etc if I can.

Thanks for the comments on the pics

Tony
Dual Boot - Windows XP
Sabayon 4.1 (64bit)
Dual CPU 64bit 3.1mhz
4.1 gb ram
220 gb disk with 500gb external disk
Tony-photoplus
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 23:36

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby joeoden » Wed May 20, 2009 1:42

Yes might give us some idea of what is going on
You can do this by typing in konsole (terminal):
su
Password: type in your password
sabutil menu

In the Menu that appears type the numbers 01 to 09 (the View and AutoPaste: section) for example to Pastebin Xorg.0.log you would just type
01

Don't forget to note the file name of the Pastebin for each entry
When you have finished just type 0 to exit sabutil menu

sabutil is installed on my system and I didn't install it, so it must be installed as one of the default programs

For more info about sabutil click on "Howto Gather Log Files Easily - Help Us to Help You" in the Announcements section at the top of the page or just click on

viewtopic.php?f=57&t=15530

Cheers
Joe
Desktop ASUS M2N-MX SE Plus, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 5200, 4 Gb RAM, GeForce 9500 1GB
Notebook HP CQ61-311AX, AMD CPU M320, 4 Gb RAM, Radeon HD 4300 512 MB
Wireless AR9285, Audio ATI SBx00 (IDT 92hd75B2x5)
Some mistakes are too much fun to only make once!
joeoden
Old Dear Hen
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:35
Location: Back in the 'swamp land' Moe, Australia 38°10′20″S 146°16′04″E

Re: Re-loaded/Updated packages and now no access to Sabayon

Postby Tony-photoplus » Wed May 20, 2009 8:27

Ok, have a problem with that I can't access Sabayon. I can only access the login and then yes something like a terminal appears, I can then access the stuff. But, there is no way to copy it or email it here. I can access it by using the disk, but the terminal would only access the disk info, wouldn't it?
Dual Boot - Windows XP
Sabayon 4.1 (64bit)
Dual CPU 64bit 3.1mhz
4.1 gb ram
220 gb disk with 500gb external disk
Tony-photoplus
Simple Hen
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2009 23:36

PreviousNext

Return to Sabayon Linux General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests