why is sabayon is large?

Discussion in general that pertains to Sabayon Linux - Must Pertain to Sabayon Linux

Moderator: Moderators

alexicon
Baby Hen

why is sabayon is large?

Post by alexicon » Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:47

hello. im new to sabayon, really wanted to give it a try as i used gentoo for about 4 years and loved it. anyway, got ubuntu on my laptop now, but im getting pretty bored of it. finally got around to downloading a copy of sabayon, but just read the wiki and it says minimum of 10gb required :O

ive used linux now over 6 years and i've never heard of anything being so big lol. not even enterprise edition stuff with kde/gnome and several language packs.

what exactly is bloating sabayon out? is it possible to get rid of it at install time?? i really really really want to try sabayon, but my largest partition is only 7gb on here... is there a diet sabayon?? heh or am i just going to have to wait until i get a desktop with a bigger harddrive.

a.

*did do a search on this didnt find any similar results, but hope im not reposting anything here. heard great stuff about this distro, i wanna try it!!!

Cohan
Baby Hen

Re: why is sabayon is large?

Post by Cohan » Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:54

The new mini edition is hopefully here in a few days, but until then you can still make a much smaller install with the regular Sabayon DVD by deselecting package groups during the installation process.

/Cohan

alexicon
Baby Hen

Post by alexicon » Mon Sep 10, 2007 3:16

ah nice one. ok i was misinformed then heh
had a couple of friends tell me to try sabayon, he booted up the installer and was sayin yep its 10gb. phew ok then! will have a try tonight and see what i can cut it down to ;)

lxnay
Land Owner

Post by lxnay » Mon Sep 10, 2007 8:30

And about 1,5GB is dedicated to 3D games not installed by default. What's the problem? When we had a 2GB DVD people complained that we didn't use all the 4.7 Gigs of the DVD, now, people complain that we use till the last byte. :roll: