HDA-INTEL No sound!

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby predator » Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:24

Hello,

First of all: I like this distro!
I've testet many distributions, but this nice looking font on LCD's and the complete installation with all needed tools like java...

But now my problem:
I'm running lenovo laptop with hda-intel sound and Sabayon 3.4e (freshly installation).
First start said that there is no alsa. So I run 'alsaconf' successfully and the system sound and amarok works.
But after reboot there is no sound again (with message from system and amarok).
If I run 'alsaconf' all is OK and so on.

I've looked into the 'runlevels'-section: There is alsa in 'default'; I've mooved it to 'boot' but no reaction. The entry in modules seemed OK.

I don't find any solutions for me in the forum.
predator
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:07

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby teo » Fri Aug 31, 2007 9:28

predator wrote:Hello,

First of all: I like this distro!
I've testet many distributions, but this nice looking font on LCD's and the complete installation with all needed tools like java...

But now my problem:
I'm running lenovo laptop with hda-intel sound and Sabayon 3.4e (freshly installation).
First start said that there is no alsa. So I run 'alsaconf' successfully and the system sound and amarok works.
But after reboot there is no sound again (with message from system and amarok).
If I run 'alsaconf' all is OK and so on.

I've looked into the 'runlevels'-section: There is alsa in 'default'; I've mooved it to 'boot' but no reaction. The entry in modules seemed OK.

I don't find any solutions for me in the forum.


Lenovo makes hudreds of models of laptops with a dozen different chipsets. A detailed description of the hardware and a lspci wouldn't spoil the fun of finding what's wrong.
There are many different versions of hda-intel-compatible chips, my Lenovo C200 has a really tricky one but I made it work somehow.
teo
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 23:09
Location: Trieste, Italy

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby predator » Fri Aug 31, 2007 15:38

Thank you very much for the quick response.
Now I'm at home to get all information we needed for a solution:

The type of the laptop is a Lenovo 3000 N100 with an Intel 945 GM display controller and an Intel 82801G audio controller.

This is the output of lspci:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/GMS, 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (rev 02)
05:01.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
05:04.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
05:06.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Ricoh Co Ltd R5C832 IEEE 1394 Controller
05:06.1 Generic system peripheral [0805]: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C822 SD/SDIO/MMC/MS/MSPro Host Adapter (rev 19)
05:06.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd Unknown device 0843 (rev 01)
05:06.3 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd R5C592 Memory Stick Bus Host Adapter (rev 0a)
05:06.4 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd xD-Picture Card Controller (rev 05)

The error message is:
Sound server informational message:
Error while initializing the sound driver:
device: default can't be opened for playback (Invalid argument)
The sound server will continue, using the null output device.

If i disable sound in the kde-controle center, the message comes not, but this is not the thing I want to have.

Greetings, Frank
predator
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:07

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby teo » Fri Aug 31, 2007 20:44

If your Lenovo is anything similar to my Lenovo, then you have a rare ALC861VD HDA-intel implementation. You can try to unmerge all alsa-something packages and install manually a patched version following the instructions on this page, with the exception that instead of using apt-get you download the sources manually, you untar them and then ./configure && make && sudo make install.

EDIT: if your particular model of the N100 (you can find the exact model number on the sticker on the underside of your laptop) has a different hda-intel implementation (you should be able to look it up on the official site with your model number) you can always google for ALC-something + alsa.
teo
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 23:09
Location: Trieste, Italy

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby linksterman » Sat Sep 01, 2007 17:48

I have a Compaq v3000 series and used this guide for ubuntu to get it to work:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HdaIntelSoundHowto


but dont know how to get it to work in sabayon, but maybe it will help you.


Code: Select all
00:10.1 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP51 High Definition Audio (rev a2)


That is my audio card
linksterman
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 17:44

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby Belial » Sun Sep 02, 2007 22:29

Something to try may also be removing alsa modules from the kernel (see the wiki) but still enabling sound support, and using the 9999 alsa-driver package from portage, may already include the patch, and saves an installtion outside of portage
User avatar
Belial
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 22:34

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby predator » Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:10

Thank you for the lot of answeres.

I've test something form the UBUNTU pages, but my problem is following:

1) I log in into KDE with normal user rights.
2) Error message, that no alsa was found.
3) As su I restart alsa (/etc/init.d/alsa stop; /etc/init.d/alsa start).
4) Now the sound is working.
5) I log out and relogin into KDE.
6) Sound is working.
7) I reboot PC.
8) Sound is NOT working.
9) I begin with 3) again.

It seems to be for me, that in normal boot the alsa was not correctly initiated.
I move alsa from default to boot, but nothing happens.
I rename alsa to zalsa, so the service is started at the last point, but nothing happens.

I don't know, what else I can do. I mean, it is not the kernel driver, because the sound is working.
predator
Baby Hen
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2007 8:07

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby linksterman » Mon Sep 03, 2007 19:50

Ok, i finally got my HDA-Intel card working it was a pretty stupid way too.

I just unplugged my laptop from the power source, and selected shutdown. then i took out my battery, put it back in and booted up. then i plugged back in my power cord. lo and behold the log in sound worked! everytime i log into windows i have to take out the battery for the sound to work in linux.
linksterman
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 17:44

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby Belial » Mon Sep 03, 2007 20:41

link, Are you hibernating windows on shutdown? I've seen a few cases where hibernating the system doesnt shutdown hardware properly, and a clean shutdown of windows is required first? Just a suggestion to save the pulling battery milarky
User avatar
Belial
Young Hen
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2007 22:34

Re: HDA-INTEL No sound!

Postby linksterman » Mon Sep 03, 2007 21:47

Belial wrote:link, Are you hibernating windows on shutdown? I've seen a few cases where hibernating the system doesnt shutdown hardware properly, and a clean shutdown of windows is required first? Just a suggestion to save the pulling battery milarky

nope, i do a full shutdown.
linksterman
Young Hen
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 17:44

Next

Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest