Any Thunderbolt 3 support for Sabayon / Gentoo?

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 873
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Any Thunderbolt 3 support for Sabayon / Gentoo?

Post by linuxfluesterer » Wed Mar 28, 2018 15:13

Hallo guys.
Just a short question:
Is there any support given in Sabayon / Gentoo for a Thunderbolt 3 port?
Intention is to connect several monitors (2x 4k + 1x 2k).
If not, can I use a docking station with a Thunderbolt 3 port or maybe a DisplayPort 1.2 to acheiving the same goal?

Thank you in advance.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...

User avatar
sabayonino
Sagely Hen
Posts: 3279
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:12
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Any Thunderbolt 3 support for Sabayon / Gentoo?

Post by sabayonino » Thu Mar 29, 2018 21:07

Thubderbolt support is enabled (as module)

Code: Select all

$ zcat /proc/config.gz | grep THUNDE
CONFIG_THUNDER_NIC_PF=m
CONFIG_THUNDER_NIC_VF=m
CONFIG_THUNDER_NIC_BGX=m
CONFIG_THUNDER_NIC_RGX=m
CONFIG_MDIO_THUNDER=m
CONFIG_THUNDERBOLT_NET=m
CONFIG_INTEL_WMI_THUNDERBOLT=m
CONFIG_THUNDERBOLT=m
https://github.com/torvalds/linux/tree/ ... hunderbolt
and
https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/latest/ ... rbolt.html
[Che Cos'è Il Calcolo Distribuito (BOINC)

BOINC ready ! Sabayon+BOINC = BILD ,my Sabayon spin :cyclops: - Ready to crunch for the Science everywhere :)

User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 873
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: Any Thunderbolt 3 support for Sabayon / Gentoo?

Post by linuxfluesterer » Thu Mar 29, 2018 22:44

sabayonino wrote:Thubderbolt support is enabled (as module)
Thank you, Sabayonino.
I've read something (or was it youtube?) about a bolt daemon, which I haven't found in Sabayon repo. The search result for bolt in Sabayon repo was a "Logging tool for the Objective Caml language", so not for a port.

And, do you have experience with multiple monitors like 4k+4k+2k, all three by 60hz and of different screens (no cloning) on one intel processor with Intel Iris Plus graphics adapter? This computer (an Intel NUC system) has a thunderbolt 3 port. And second is, can Plasma 5.12.3 support such three monitors? And then, to acheive three monitors, is there a need for a docking station or is there another way also?

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...

Post Reply