touchpad Fn+F3 not working

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
laminko
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar

touchpad Fn+F3 not working

Post by laminko » Mon May 11, 2015 17:23

Hi,

I pressed Fn+F3 keys to turn touchpad on but it didn't work. It worked in previous update. Current update is :

Code: Select all

Sabayon Linux amd64 15.05

I found the link: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-5 ... art-0.html and that wasn't what I am looking for (because they assigned NUL).

dmesg:

Code: Select all

[12704.821198] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
[12704.821216] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e059 <keycode>' to make it known.
[12704.826424] atkbd serio0: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
[12704.826438] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e059 <keycode>' to make it known.
[12705.079416] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
[12705.079428] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e059 <keycode>' to make it known.
[12705.085015] atkbd serio0: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
Any help appreciated and thank you.

User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 873
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: touchpad Fn+F3 not working

Post by linuxfluesterer » Tue May 12, 2015 8:29

Some more informations, pls...
-Which computer model (Name, Type...) ?
-Which Sabayon (KDE, Gnome, XFCE ...) ?

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...

laminko
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar

Re: touchpad Fn+F3 not working

Post by laminko » Wed May 13, 2015 20:38

- Dell Inspiron 15 3521,core i7 (dual core), Ram 8GB, HDD 1TB, with ATI Radeon
- Sabayon Linux 15.05, KDE 4.14.6 (sabayon-weekly)

thank you.

User avatar
linuxfluesterer
Old Dear Hen
Posts: 873
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 19:47
Location: Germany

Re: touchpad Fn+F3 not working

Post by linuxfluesterer » Thu May 14, 2015 13:31

Ok, then...
In KDE System Settings, Input Devices, you will find Keyboard (on the left side). Click on it and there you will find three tabs on top, the first one is Hardware. If not already shown, then click on this tab.
Now you will see keyboard model (or maybe keyboard type) where you can choose between many hardware brands like Acer, Cherry, Dell and more.
As you can see some Dell types also, you can try such settings here and possibly solve your problem.
To be sure to have activateted the new setting, log out from KDE and then log in again.

-Linuxfluesterer (I love KDE ...)
Take away Facebook from me and let there be real people again...

laminko
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar

Re: touchpad Fn+F3 not working

Post by laminko » Sat May 16, 2015 13:10

First, I want to say: thank you. I have tried following keyboards (with many logout/in):
- Dell | Dell
- Dell Generic 101 PC
- Generic | Generic 101 PC

Nothing works for me. Still showing the following messages:

Code: Select all

[ 3520.642320] atkbd serio0: Unknown key pressed (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
[ 3520.642332] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e059 <keycode>' to make it known.
[ 3520.647651] atkbd serio0: Unknown key released (translated set 2, code 0xd9 on isa0060/serio0).
[ 3520.647662] atkbd serio0: Use 'setkeycodes e059 <keycode>' to make it known.
I don't know how to do. I can't use my touchpad. :(

laminko
Young Hen
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 16:35
Location: Yangon, Myanmar

Re: touchpad Fn+F3 not working [solved]

Post by laminko » Fri Feb 19, 2016 22:14

Fn+F3 was not working. But, I googled and made a script using synaptiks. And, I mapped a shortcut with that. Done.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
# https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Touchpad_Synaptics#Buttonless_touchpads_.28aka_ClickPads.29

declare -i ID
ID=`xinput list | grep -Eio 'touchpad\s*id\=[0-9]{1,2}' | grep -Eo '[0-9]{1,2}'`
# xinput set-prop $ID "Device Enabled" 1
STATE=`xinput list-props $ID|grep 'Device Enabled'|awk '{print $4}'`
if [ $STATE -eq 1 ]
then
    xinput disable $ID
    echo "Touchpad disabled."
    notify-send 'Touchpad' 'Disabled' -i /usr/share/icons/Adwaita/48x48/devices/input-touchpad.png
else
    xinput enable $ID
    synclient TapButton1=1
    synclient TapButton2=2
    echo "Touchpad enabled."
    notify-send 'Touchpad' 'Enabled' -i /usr/share/icons/Adwaita/48x48/devices/input-touchpad.png
fi
Cheers!

Post Reply