Unable to mount LG phone storage. [Solved]

Issues Related to Hardware (Sound, Video, Printers, Scanners, Webcams, Touchpads, Keyboards, Sensors, Drives, GRUB, etc.)

Moderator: Moderators

heathen
Growing Hen

Unable to mount LG phone storage. [Solved]

Post by heathen » Sun Jun 29, 2014 1:58

I just replaced my samsung Straight Talk phone with the little LG Optimus Fuel with Android 4.4. When I plug it in via USB my computer see's it but won't mount it. I'm running SL 14 KDE on a pentium 2020m. I've never used Bluedevil before and tried it, but nothing happens when I click on it, but I'd rather use USB anyways. I can mount the SD card directly in the SD card drive in the computer, but I'm gonna get tired of having to take the SD card out of the phone to access it every time. Is there anything specific I need to do with this LG that i can't find, or something i need to install, to get this thing to mount?
Last edited by heathen on Mon Jun 30, 2014 6:16, edited 1 time in total.
just wandering around and poking stuff with sticks...

Fitzcarraldo
Sagely Hen

Re: Unable to mount LG phone storage.

Post by Fitzcarraldo » Sun Jun 29, 2014 14:04

Try installing sys-fs/mtpfs (it's in the Entropy repositories). See the Gentoo Wiki article MTP for how to use it.

Unfortunately SL does not have the package kde-misc/kio-mtp in the Entropy repositories, but it works nicely with KDE in Gentoo for me and enables file drag-and-drop in Dolphin. You could file a request for it to be added to the Entropy repositories (see the link Bugs at the top right of this page).

If your Android phone and home router have WiFi support, you could install KDE Connect on your PC (kde-misc/kdeconnect in the Entropy repositories) and KDE Connect on your Android phone. It works really well (and is much faster than Bluetooth).

Bluetooth is broken in KDE after the Bluez developers changed the design of the Bluez package (Bluez-4 worked fine with BlueDevil-1.* but Bluez-5 and BlueDevil-2.* don't work).